Tag Archives: Lloyd Cole

On June 21, 2013.

On June 21, 2013, “Tapete” label released “Standards”, the tenth Lloyd Cole album. It was recorded November 2012 – February 2013 and was produced by Lloyd Cole.


  • Lloyd Cole– vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Matthew Sweet– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Fred Maher– drums
  • Blair Cowan– keyboards
  • Mark Schwaber – guitar, harmony vocals
  • Will Cole – guitar, harmony vocals
  • Matt Cullen – guitar
  • Joan Wasser– piano, harmony vocals
  • Dave Derby– harmony vocals
  • Mike Wyzik – percussion
  • Olaf Opal – mixing
  • Joerg Siegeler – mixing
  • Hosuk Lee-Makiyama– artwork, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Lloyd Cole except where noted.

  1. California Earthquake – John Hartford
  2. Women’s Studies
  3. Period Piece
  4. Myrtle and Rose
  5. No Truck
  6. Blue Like mars
  7. Opposites Day
  8. Silver Lake
  9. It’s Late
  10. Kids Today
  11. Diminished Ex

On November 22, 1985.


On November 22, 1985, “Polydor” label released “Easy Pieces”, the second Lloyd Cole and the Commotions album. It was recorded in 1985, at “Westside Studios” in London, and was produced by Clive Langer and Alan Winstanley.


  • Neil Clark– guitar
  • Lloyd Cole– vocals, guitar
  • Blair Cowan– keyboards
  • Lawrence Donegan– bass guitar, guitar
  • Stephen Irvine – drums, tambourine
  • Jimmy Thomas, Jimmy Helms, Lance Ellington, Jimmy Chambers, Tony Jackson, Lynda Hayes – additional vocals
  • Anne Dudley– string arrangements
  • Gary Barnacle– brass arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Lloyd Cole.

  1. Rich
  2. Why I Love Country Music – Lloyd Cole, Blair Cowan
  3. Pretty Gone – Neil Clark, Lloyd Cole
  4. Grace
  5. Cut Me Down
  6. Brand New Friend – Lloyd Cole, Blair Cowan
  7. Lost Weekend – Neil Clark, Lloyd Cole, Lawrence Donegan
  8. James
  9. Minor Character – Neil Clark, Lloyd Cole
  10. Perfect Blue


On October 12, 1984.

lloyd cole - rattlesnakes

On October 12, 1984, “Polydor” label released “Rattlesnakes the debut album by Lloyd Cole and the Commotions. The album was recorded in 1984, at the “Garden” in London, and was produced by Paul Hardiman.


  • Neil Clark– guitar
  • Lloyd Cole– vocals, guitar
  • Blair Cowan– keyboards
  • Lawrence Donegan– bass guitar
  • Stephen Irvine – drums, tambourine

Track listing:

All compositions by Lloyd Cole, except where noted.

  1. Perfect Skin
  2. Speedboat
  3. Rattlesnakes – Lloyd Cole and Neil Clark
  4. Down on Mission Street
  5. Forest Fire
  6. Charlotte Street
  7. 2cv
  8. Four Flights Up – Lloyd Cole and Lawrence Donegan
  9. Patience – Lloyd Cole and Blair Cowan
  10. Are You Ready to Be Heartbroken? – Lloyd Cole and Neil Clark


On June 4, 1942.

Capitol Records

On June 4, 1942, “Capitol Records” was founded by Johnny Mercer, Buddy DeSylva, and Glenn Wallichs. Over the decades, the label became home to artists such as Frank Sinatra, The Beatles, The Beach Boys, Eddie Cochran, Gene Vincent, Bobby Darin, Glen Campbell, Steve Miller, Dr. Hook, Bob Seger, Tina Turner, Heart,  Nat King Cole, the Four Knights, Tennessee Ernie Ford, Stan Kenton, June Christy, Louis Prima, Keely Smith, the Louvin Brothers, Judy Garland, the Andrews Sisters, Harry James, Andy Griffith, Shirley Bassey, the Kingston Trio, Dean Martin, The Four Freshmen, Helen Reddy, Anne Murray, April Wine, Blondie, Bloodrock, Burning Spear, Buzzcocks, David Bowie, Kim Carnes, Rosanne Cash, Max Webster, Lee Clayton, Natalie Cole, The Goose Creek Symphony, Sammy Hagar, The Knack, Maze, Mink DeVille, Juice Newton, Raspberries, Minnie Riperton, Diana Ross, Sweet, The Specials, The Sylvers, Ten Wheel Drive, The Stranglers, Tavares, George Thorogood, Triumvirate, Little River Band, Wings, The Persuasions, Richard Marx, The Motels, Billy Squier, Crowded House, Peter Blakeley, Depeche Mode, Duran Duran, The Doobie Brothers, Willie Dixon, Glass Tiger, Katrina & The Waves, Grace Jones, Lloyd Cole, Pet Shop Boys, Sawyer Brown, Queen, Roxette, Brian Setzer,The Smithereens, Spandau Ballet, The Tubes, Paul Westerberg, Butthole Surfers, Concrete Blonde, Billy Idol, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Megadeth, Exodus, W.A.S.P., Poison, Iron Maiden, Queensrÿche,  Beastie Boys, King Tee, Mantronix, Mellow Man Ace, Robbie Robertson, Dave Koz, Ashford and Simpson, Freddie Jackson, BeBe & CeCe Winans, Skinny Puppy and others.


On May 31, 2004.


On May 31, 2004, Robert Wolfe Quine died aged 61. Known as innovative guitarist he has worked with Richard Hell & the Voidoids, Lou Reed, Brian Eno, John Zorn,Ikue Mori, Marc Ribot, Marianne Faithfull, Lloyd Cole, Tom Waits, Matthew Sweet, They Might Be Giants, Odds and Jody Harris.