In June 1984.

In June 1984, “Ensign” label released “A Pagan Place”, the second Waterboys studio album. It was recorded November 1982 at “Redshop Studio”, September 1983 at “Rockfield Studio”, and was produced by Mike Scott.


  • Mike Scott– vocals, guitar, piano, bass, bellzouki
  • Anthony Thistlethwaite– saxophone, bass, mandolin
  • Kevin Wilkinson– drums
  • Karl Wallinger– piano, organ, percussion, backing vocals
  • Roddy Lorimer– trumpet
  • Tim Blanthorn – violin
  • Barbara Snow
  • Eddi Reader
  • V. Smith
  • Ingrid Schroeder
  • Nick Linden
  • Stephen W Tayler– mixing
  • Jim Preen, John Brand, Richard Digby Smith, Stephen W Tayler, Ted Sharp – engineer
  • Sheila Rock – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Mike Scott.

  1. Church Not Made With Hands
  2. All The Things She Gave Me
  3. The Thrill Is Gone
  4. Rags
  5. Somebody Might Wave Back
  6. The Big Music
  7. Red Army Blues
  8. A Pagan Place



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.