Tag Archives: Nigel Preston

On September 10, 1984.

On September 10, 1984, “Beggars Banquet” label released “Dreamtime”, the debut  Cult album. It was recorded in 1984, and was produced by John Brand and Chris Kimsey.


  • Ian Astbury– vocals
  • Billy Duffy– guitar
  • Jamie Stewart– bass, backing vocals
  • Nigel Preston– drums, percussion
  • Mich Ebeling – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Ian Astbury and Billy Duffy, except where noted.

  1. Horse Nation
  2. Spiritwalker
  3. 83rd Dream
  4. Butterflies
  5. Go West (Crazy Spinning Circles)
  6. Gimmick
  7. A Flower in the Desert – Ian Astbury, Barry Jepson, David Burroughs, Haq Qureshi
  8. Dreamtime
  9. Rider in the Snow
  10. Bad Medicine Walt

On October 18, 1985.


On October 18, 1985, “Beggars Banquet Records” released “Love”, the second Cult album.  It was recorded July – August 1985, at the “Jacob’s Studios” in Farnham, Surrey and “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Steve Brown. “Love” was released in more than 30 countries worldwide, and sold an estimated 2.5 million copies.


  • Ian Astbury– vocals
  • Billy Duffy– electric guitars, acoustic guitars, backing vocals
  • Jamie Stewart– bass, keyboards, strings, backing vocals
  • Mark Brzezicki– drums
  • Simon Kliney – Fairlight programming
  • Nigel Preston– drums
  • The Soultanas (Mae McKenna, Lorenza Johnson, Jackie Challenor) – backing vocals

Track listing:

All compositions by Ian Astbury and Billy Duffy.

  1. Nirvana
  2. Big Neon Glitter
  3. Love
  4. Brother Wolf, Sister Moon
  5. Rain
  6. The Phoenix
  7. Hollow Man
  8. Revolution
  9. She Sells Sanctuary
  10. Black Angel