Tag Archives: Chess Records

On October 16, 1969.

On October 16, 1969, Lejzor Szmuel Czyż aka Leonard Chess died aged 52. He was a record company executive and the co-founder of Chess Records, home to John Lee Hooker, Little Walter, Chuck Berry, Bo Diddley, The Moonglows, The Flamingos, Jimmy Reed, and Sonny Boy Williamson. He was influential in the development of rock and roll, electric blues, and the Chicago blues scene.

In June 1971.

In June 1971, “Chess Records” label released “San Francisco Dues”, the fifteen Chuck Berry studio album. It was recorded in 1971, at “Lansing Sound Studios” in Lansing, Michigan, and was produced by Chuck Berry.


  • Chuck Berry – guitar, piano, vocals
  • Jeff Baldori – second guitar
  • Bob Baldori– piano, harmonica
  • Jack Groendal – bass guitar
  • Johnnie Johnson– piano
  • Bill Metros – drums
  • Esmond Edwards– supervisor
  • Dean Bredwell – engineer
  • Michael Mendel – cover, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Chuck Berry

  1. Oh Louisiana
  2. Let’s Do Our Thing Together
  3. Your Lick
  4. Festival
  5. Bound to Lose
  6. Bordeaux in My Pirough
  7. San Francisco Dues
  8. Viva Rock and Roll
  9. My Dream (Poem)
  10. Lonely School Days

In April 1965.

In April 1965, “Chess Records” label released “Chuck Berry in London”, the eighth Chuck Berry studio album. It was produced by Leonard Chess and Philip Chess.


  • Chuck Berry– guitar, vocals
  • Bill Armstrong – backing vocals
  • Jules Blattner – guitar
  • Mike Boocock – backing vocals
  • Howard Jones – drums
  • Neil Carter – backing vocals
  • Louis Cennamo– bass
  • Jeff Crivet – guitar
  • Roger Eagle – backing vocals
  • Roger Fairhurst – backing bocals
  • Rick Green – backing vocals
  • Peter John Hogman – harmonica
  • Chick Kattenhorn – drums
  • Bob Scrivens – piano
  • Brian Hamilton – tenor saxophone
  • Brian Smith – backing Vocals
  • Bill Bixler – bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Chuck Berry except where noted

  1. My Little Love-Light
  2. She Once Was Mine
  3. After It’s Over
  4. I Got a Booking
  5. Night Beat
  6. His Daughter Caroline
  7. You Came a Long Way from St Louis – Bob Russell, John Benson Brooks
  8. Louis Blues – W.C. Handy
  9. Jamaica Farewell – Lord Burgess
  10. Dear Dad
  11. Butterscotch
  12. The Song of My Love
  13. Why Should We End This Way
  14. I Want to Be Your Driver

On January 10, 1977.

Hard_Again - Muddy_Waters

On January 10, 1977, “Blue Sky” label released “Hard Again”, the twelfth Muddy Waters studio album. It was recorded in 1976, and was produced by Johnny Winter.This was Water’s first album for “Blue Sky” label after leaving “Chess Records”.


  • Muddy Waters– vocals, guitar
  • Bob Margolin– guitar
  • Pinetop Perkins– piano
  • James Cotton– harmonica
  • Willie “Big Eyes” Smith– drums
  • Charles Calmese – bass
  • Johnny Winter– guitar, miscellaneous screaming

Track listing:

All tracks by McKinley Morganfield (Muddy Waters), except where noted.

  1. Mannish Boy – McKinley Morganfield, Ellas McDaniel, Mel London
  2. Bus Driver – McKinley Morganfield, Terry Abrahamson
  3. I Want to Be Loved – Willie Dixon
  4. Jealous Hearted Man
  5. I Can’t Be Satisfied
  6. The Blues Had a Baby and They Named It Rock And Roll, Pt. 2 – McKinley Morganfield, Brownie McGhee
  7. Deep Down in Florida
  8. Crosseyed Cat
  9. Little Girl