Tag Archives: See the Light

On May 15, 2009.

On May 15, 2009, “Reprise” label released “21st Century Breakdown”, the eighth Green Day studio album. It was recorded January 2008 – April 2009, at “Ocean Way Recording” inHollywood; “Studio 880” in Oakland, California,  “Jel Studios” in Newport Beach, California, “Costa Mesa Studios” in Costa Mesa, California, and was produced by Butch Vig, Billy Joe Armstrong, Tré Cool and Mike Dirnt. At the 52nd Grammy Awardsheld in January 2010, “21st Century Breakdown” won “Grammy Award” for “Best Rock Album”. The album was certified Platinum in US by “RIAA”.


  • Billie Joe Armstrong– lead vocals, guitar, piano
  • Tré Cool– drums, percussion
  • Mike Dirnt– leaf and backing vocals, bass guitar
  • Jason Freese– piano
  • Tom Kitt– string arrangements
  • Patrick Warren – string conducting
  • Chris Lord-Alge– mix engineer
  • Chris Dugan – engineer
  • Keith Armstrong – assistant engineer
  • Nik Karpen – assistant engineer
  • Wesley Seidman – assistant engineer
  • Brad Kobylczak – additional engineering
  • Joe McGrath – additional engineering
  • Andrew Schubert – additional engineering
  • Brad Townshend – additional engineering
  • Ted Jensen– mastering
  • Chris Bilheimer – design, photography, stencils
  • Andrew Black – stencils
  • Micah Chong – stencils
  • David Cooper – stencils
  • Marina Chavez – back cover photo

Track listing:

All lyrics by Billie Joe Armstrong, all music composed by Billie Joe Armstrong, Tré Cool and Mike Dirnt.

  1. Song of the Century
  2. 21st Century Breakdown
  3. Know Your Enemy
  4. ¡Viva la Gloria!
  5. Before the Lobotomy
  6. Christian’s Inferno
  7. Last Night on Earth
  8. East Jesus Nowhere
  9. Peacemaker
  10. Last of the American Girls
  11. Murder City
  12. ¿Viva la Gloria?
  13. Restless Heart Syndrome
  14. Horseshoes and Handgrenades
  15. The Static Age
  16. 21 Guns
  17. American Eulogy: A. Mass Hysteria/B. Modern World
  18. See the Light

On March 15, 1975.


On March 15, 1975, “Columbia” label released “That’s the Way of the World”, the sixth Earth, Wind & Fire studio album. It was recorded September – October 1974, at “Caribou Ranch” in Nederland, Colorado, and was produced by Maurice White and Charles Stepney. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 486 on its list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Verdine White – bass
  • Fred White, Maurice White, Ralph Johnson – drums
  • Andrew P. Woolfolk – flute, saxophone
  • Al McKay, Johnny Graham – guitar
  • Maurice White – kalimba
  • Al McKay, Fred White, Maurice White, Philip Bailey, Ralph Johnson, Verdine White – percussion
  • Larry Dunn – piano, organ, Moog synthesizer
  • Maurice White, Philip Bailey, Verdine White – vocals

Track listing:

  1. Shining Star – Philip Bailey, Larry Dunn, Maurice White
  2. That’s the Way of the World – Charles Stepney, Maurice White, Verdine White
  3. Happy Feelin’ – Verdine White, Philip Bailey, Larry Dunn
  4. All About Love – Larry Dunn and Maurice White
  5. Yearnin’ learnin – Philip Bailey, Charles Stepney, Maurice White
  6. Reasons – Philip bailey, Charles Stepney, Maurice White
  7. Africano – Larry Dunn, Maurice White
  8. See the Light – Louise Anglin, Philip Bailey, Larry Dunn