Tag Archives: Steve Fisk

On March 28, 1987.

On March 28, 1987, “SST” label released “Even If and Especially When” the second Screaming Trees studio album. It was recorded in 1986, at “Velvetone” in Ellensburg, WA, and was produced by Steve Fisk, Mark Lanegan, Van Conner, Gary Lee Conner and Mark Pickerel.


  • Mark Lanegan – vocals
  • Gary Lee Conner – guitar, organ, back cover photography
  • Van Conner – bass
  • Mark Pickerel – drums
  • John Golden – mastering
  • Diane Szukovathy – design
  • Jeff Price – front cover photography

Track listing:

  1. Transfiguration
  2. Straight Out to Any Place
  3. World Painted
  4. Don’t Look Down
  5. Girl Behind the Mask
  6. Flying
  7. Cold Rain
  8. Other Days and Different Planets
  9. The Pathway
  10. You Know Where It’s All
  11. Back Together
  12. In the Forest

On April 17, 2001.

On April 17, 2001, “Kill Rock Stars” label released “Leaves Turn Inside You”, the eighth and final Unwound studio album. It was recorded in 2000, at “MagRecOne” in Olympia, Washington, and was produced by Phil Ek, Justin Trosper, Sara Lund and Vern Rumsey.


  • Justin Trosper– lead and background vocals, guitar, mellotron, Rhodes piano, piano, synthesizer, engineering, tape operation
  • Sara Lund – drums, percussion, background vocals, tape operation, engineerin
  • Vern Rumsey– vocals, bass, guitar, organ, piano,  tape operation, engineering
  • Brandt Sandeno – background vocals,, harpsichord, mellotron, organ, Rhodes piano, slide guitar, , vibraphone, tape operation, engineering
  • Murray W. – optiphone, dynachord
  • Janet Weiss– background vocals
  • Steve Fisk – mellotron
  • Derek Johnson – cello
  • Kip Beelman – tape operation, engineering
  • Phil Ek– tape operation, engineering
  • Roger Seibel – mastering
  • Pat Castaldo – layout
  • Stefano Giovaninni – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Justin Trosper, Sara Lund and Vern Rumsey.

  1. We Invent You
  2. Look a Ghost
  3. December
  4. Treachery
  5. Terminus
  6. Demons Sing Love Songs
  7. Off This Century
  8. One Lick Less
  9. Scarlette
  10. October All Over
  11. Summer Freeze
  12. Radio Gra
  13. Bellow the Salt
  14. Who Cares



On May 20, 2016.

On May 20, 2016, “Matador” label released “Teens of Denial”, the tenth Car Seat Headrest studio album. It was recorded in 2016, and was produced by Steve Fisk.


  • Will Toledo – vocals, guitars, organ, piano, Mellotron
  • Ethan Ives – vocals, bass, guitars, vibrato switch on organ
  • Andrew Katz – vocals, drums, mixed percussion, Mellotron
  • Seth Dalby – bass
  • Jon Maus – trumpets, trombone
  • Nick Shadel – piano
  • Jim Dejoie – saxophone
  • Gordon S. Fisk – back cover photograph
  • Mike Zimmerman – cover layout, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Will Toledo.

  1. Fill in the Blank
  2. Vincent
  3. Destroyed by Hippie Powers
  4. (Joe Gets Kicked out of School for Using) Drugs with Friends (But Says This Isn’t a Problem)
  5. Not What I needed
  6. Drunk Drivers / Killer Whales
  7. 1937 State Park
  8. Unforgiving Girl (She’s Not An)
  9. Cosmic Hero
  10. The Ballad of the Costa Concordia – contains lyrics and elements of the song “White Flag”, by Florian Armstrong, Rollo Armstrongand Rick Nowels
  11. Connect the Dots (The Saga of Frank Sinatra)
  12. Joe Goes to School


On July 9, 1996.

On July 9, 1996, “Slash” label released “Irresistible Bliss”, the second Soul Coughing studio album. It was recorded in 1995, and was produced by David Kahne, Steve Fisk, M. Doughty, Sebastian Steinberg, Mark de Gli Antoni and Yuval Gabay.


  • Doughty (Mike Doughty)– vocals, guitar
  • Sebastian Steinberg– bass, upright bass, backing vocals, fiddle
  • Mark de Gli Antoni– keyboards, turntables, programming
  • Yuval Gabay– drums, programming

Track listing:

All tracks by M. Doughty, Sebastian Steinberg, Mark de Gli Antoni and Yuval Gabay.

  1. Super Bon Bon
  2. Soft Serve
  3. White Girl
  4. Soundtrack to Mary
  5. Lazybones
  6. 4 Out of 5
  7. Paint
  8. Disseminated
  9. Collapse
  10. Sleepless
  11. The Idiot Kings
  12. How Many Cans?

On May 1, 1990.

Mark Lanegan-The Winding Sheet

On May 1, 1990, “Sub Pop” label released “The Winding Sheet”, the first Mark Lanegan solo studio album. It was recorded in 1989, and was produced by Jack Endino, Mike Johnson and Mark Lanegan.


  • Mark Lanegan- lead vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Kurt Cobain- electric guitar, background vocal
  • Krist Novoselic- bass
  • Jack Endino– bass, second electric guitar
  • Mike Johnson- acoustic guitar, electric guitar
  • Mark Pickerel- drums
  • Steve Fisk– organ, piano
  • Justin Williams – violin

Track listing:

All tracks by Mark Lanegan and Mike Johnson except where noted.

  1. Mockingbirds
  2. Museum
  3. Undertow
  4. Ugly Sunday
  5. Down in the Dark
  6. Wild Flowers – Mark Lanegan
  7. Eyes of a Child
  8. The Winding Sheet
  9. Woe – Mark Lanegan
  10. Ten Feet Tall
  11. Where Did You Sleep Last Night – traditional
  12. Juarez – Mark Lanegan, Steve Fisk
  13. I Love You Little Girl – Mark Lanegan