Tag Archives: Billy Rankin

In October 1973.

In October 1973, “United Artists” label released “Please Don’t Ever Change”, the fifth Brinsley Schwarz album. It was recorded in July 1973, and was produced by Vic Maile, Brinsley Schwarz, Ian Gomm, Billy Rankin and Nick Lowe.


  • Brinsley Schwarz – vocals, guitar, alto saxophone, piano
  • Ian Gomm – vocals, guitar
  • Bob Andrews – vocals, piano, organ
  • Nick Lowe – vocals, bass guitar
  • Billy Rankin – drums
  • Kingsley Ward, Len Foster, Vic Maile – engineers
  • Waldo’s Design – sleeve

Track listing:

All tracks by Nick Lowe, except where noted.

  1. Hooked on Love – Ian Gomm
  2. Why Do We Hurt the One We Love
  3. I Worry (‘Bout You Baby)
  4. Don’t Ever Change – Gerry Goffin, Carole King
  5. Home in My Hand – Ronnie Self
  6. Play That Fast Thing (One More Time)
  7. I Won’t Make It Without You
  8. Down in Mexico
  9. Speedoo – Esther Navarro
  10. The Version (Hypocrite) – Leroy Sibbles

On June 30, 1983.

On June 30, 1983, “Vertigo” label released “Sound Elixir”, the fourteenth Nazareth studio album. It was recorded in 1983, and was produced by Manny Charlton.


  • Dan McCafferty- lead vocals
  • Manny Charlton- guitars
  • Billy Rankin- guitars, backing vocals, keyboards
  • Pete Agnew- bass, backing vocals
  • Darrell Sweet- drums, percussion
  • Calum Malcolm- engineer, keyboards
  • Arthur Ward – art direction
  • Matthew Curtis – graphic design

Track listing:

All tracks by Pete Agnew, Manny Charlton, Dan McCafferty, Darrell Sweet, Billy Rankin.

  1. All Nite Radio
  2. Milk and Honey
  3. Whippin’ Boy
  4. Rain on Window
  5. Backroom Boys
  6. Why Don’t You Read the Book
  7. I Rain
  8. Rags to Riches
  9. Local Still
  10. Where Are You Now

In November 1991.

In November 1991, “Griffin” label released “No Jive”, the eighteenth Nazareth studio album. It was recorded in 1991, at “Cas Studios” in Ingbert-Schüren, Germany, and was produced by Billy Rankin, Dan McCafferty, Pete Agnew, Darrell Sweet.


  • Dan McCafferty- vocals
  • Billy Rankin- guitars
  • Peter Bizarre – keyboards
  • Pete Agnew- bass guitar
  • Darrell Sweet– drums, percussion
  • Roland Peil – percussion
  • Ian Remmer – engineer
  • Mike Ging – mixing
  • Eric Philippe – design, artwork
  • Micky Berresheim, Alfie Falckenbach – executive producer

Track listing:

All tracks by Billy Rankin, Dan McCafferty, Pete Agnew, Darrell Sweet except where noted.

  1. Hire & Fire – Pete Agnew, Billy Rankin, Dan McCafferty
  2. Do You Wanna Play House – Pete Agnew, Billy Rankin
  3. Right Between the Eyes – Billy Rankin
  4. Every Time It Rains
  5. Keeping Our Love Alive
  6. Thinkin’ Man’s Nightmare
  7. Cover Your Heart
  8. Lap of Luxury
  9. The Rowan Tree/Tell Me That You Love Me
  10. Cry Wolf – Billy Rankin, Dan McCafferty
  11. This Flight Tonight – Joni Mitchell

In September 1972.

In September 1972, “United Artists” label released “Nervous on the Road”, the fourth Brinsley Schwarz studio album. It was recorded April – May 1972, at “Rockfield Studios” in Wales, and was produced by Dave Robinson.


  • Brinsley Schwarz- guitar, alto and tenor saxophone, vocals
  • Ian Gomm- guitars, vocals
  • Billy Rankin- drums
  • Bob Andrews- keyboards, alto saxophone, vocals
  • Nick Lowe- bass guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Ralph Down, Kingsley “Magic Fingers” Ward – engineers
  • Jet Power – cover design

Track listing:

All tracks by Nick Lowe; except where noted.

  1. It’s Been So Long – Ian Gomm
  2. Happy Doing What We’re Doing – Nick Lowe, Bob Andrews
  3. Surrender to the Rhythm
  4. Don’t Lose Your Grip On Love
  5. Nervous On The Road (But Can’t Stay At Home)
  6. Feel A Little Funky
  7. I Like It Like That – Chris Kenner, Allen Toussaint
  8. Brand New You, Brand New Me
  9. Home In My Hand – Ronnie Self
  10. Why, Why, Why, Why, Why

In February 1972.


In February 1972, “United Artists” label released “Silver Pistol”, the third Brinsley Schwarz album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by Dave Robinson.


  • Brinsley Schwarz- guitar
  • Ian Gomm- bass, guitar, vocals
  • Billy Rankin- drums
  • Bob Andrews- keyboards, vocals
  • Nick Lowe- bass, guitar, vocals
  • Anton Matthews – engineer, mixing
  • Chris Hollebone – mobile engineer
  • Jeff Powell – design, art direction

Track listing:

All tracks composed by Nick Lowe; except where noted.

  1. Dry Land – Ian Gomm
  2. Merry Go Round
  3. One More Day – Ian Gomm
  4. Nightingale
  5. Silver Pistol
  6. The Last Time I Was Fooled
  7. Unknown Number
  8. Range War – Ian Gomm
  9. Egypt
  10. Niki Hoeke Speedway – Jim Ford
  11. Ju Ju Man – Jim Ford, Lolly Vegas
  12. Rockin’ Chair – Ian Gomm

On November 20, 1970.


On November 20, 1970, “Capitol” label released “Despite It All”, the second Brinsley Schwarz studio album. It was recorded 1970; at “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced Brinsley Schwarz and Dave Robinson.


  • Brinsley Schwarz – vocals, guitar
  • Bob Andrews – vocals, keyboards, guitar, bass
  • Nick Lowe – vocals, bass, guitar, banjo
  • Billy Rankin- drums, percussion
  • Dave Jackson- saxophone
  • Willy Weider – fiddle
  • Brian Cole- pedal steel

All tracks by Nick Lowe except where noted.

  1. Country Girl
  2. The Slow One
  3. Funk Angel
  4. Piece of Home – Bob Andrews
  5. Love Song
  6. Star Ship
  7. Ebury Down
  8. Old Jarrow

On April 17, 1970.

Brinsley Schwarz Eponymous

On April 17, 1970, “Capitol” label released the self-titled,  debut Brinsley Schwarz album. It was recorded in 1970, at “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Brinsley Schwarz and Dave Robinson.


  • Brinsley Schwarz- vocal, guitar, percussion
  • Billy Rankin- drums, percussion
  • Bob Andrews- vocal, keyboards, bass
  • Nick Lowe- vocal, bass, acoustic guitar, slide guitar
  • Barney Bubbles (Teenburger Designs) – design

Track listing:

All tracks by Nick Lowe, except where noted.

  1. Hymn to Me – Nick Lowe, Billy Rankin, Brinsley Schwarz, Bob Andrews
  2. Shining Brightly
  3. Rock and Roll Women
  4. Lady Constant
  5. What Do You Suggest?
  6. Mayfly
  7. Ballad of a Has Been Beauty Queen