Tag Archives: Ian Gomm

In October 1973.

In October 1973, “United Artists” label released “Please Don’t Ever Change”, the fifth Brinsley Schwarz album. It was recorded in July 1973, and was produced by Vic Maile, Brinsley Schwarz, Ian Gomm, Billy Rankin and Nick Lowe.


  • Brinsley Schwarz – vocals, guitar, alto saxophone, piano
  • Ian Gomm – vocals, guitar
  • Bob Andrews – vocals, piano, organ
  • Nick Lowe – vocals, bass guitar
  • Billy Rankin – drums
  • Kingsley Ward, Len Foster, Vic Maile – engineers
  • Waldo’s Design – sleeve

Track listing:

All tracks by Nick Lowe, except where noted.

  1. Hooked on Love – Ian Gomm
  2. Why Do We Hurt the One We Love
  3. I Worry (‘Bout You Baby)
  4. Don’t Ever Change – Gerry Goffin, Carole King
  5. Home in My Hand – Ronnie Self
  6. Play That Fast Thing (One More Time)
  7. I Won’t Make It Without You
  8. Down in Mexico
  9. Speedoo – Esther Navarro
  10. The Version (Hypocrite) – Leroy Sibbles

In May 1979.

In May 1979, “Arista” label released the debut, self-titled Sky album. It was recorded in 1978, and was produced by Haydn Bendall, Tony Clark, John Williams, Kevin Peek, Francis Monkman, Herbie Flowers and Tristan Fry.


  • John Williams – acoustic guitars
  • Kevin Peek – electric and acoustic guitars
  • Francis Monkman – piano, synthesizer, harpsichord
  • Herbie Flowers – bass guitar
  • Tristan Fry – drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Westway – Herbie Flowers, Francis Monkman
  2. Carillon – Herbie Flowers, Ian Gomm
  3. Danza – Antonio Ruiz-Pipò, arranged by Kevin Peek
  4. Gymnopedie No. 1 – Erik Satie
  5. Cannonball – Francis Monkman
  6. Where Opposites Meet – Francis Monkman

In September 1972.

In September 1972, “United Artists” label released “Nervous on the Road”, the fourth Brinsley Schwarz studio album. It was recorded April – May 1972, at “Rockfield Studios” in Wales, and was produced by Dave Robinson.


  • Brinsley Schwarz- guitar, alto and tenor saxophone, vocals
  • Ian Gomm- guitars, vocals
  • Billy Rankin- drums
  • Bob Andrews- keyboards, alto saxophone, vocals
  • Nick Lowe- bass guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Ralph Down, Kingsley “Magic Fingers” Ward – engineers
  • Jet Power – cover design

Track listing:

All tracks by Nick Lowe; except where noted.

  1. It’s Been So Long – Ian Gomm
  2. Happy Doing What We’re Doing – Nick Lowe, Bob Andrews
  3. Surrender to the Rhythm
  4. Don’t Lose Your Grip On Love
  5. Nervous On The Road (But Can’t Stay At Home)
  6. Feel A Little Funky
  7. I Like It Like That – Chris Kenner, Allen Toussaint
  8. Brand New You, Brand New Me
  9. Home In My Hand – Ronnie Self
  10. Why, Why, Why, Why, Why

In April 1977.

In April 1977, “Charisma” label released “Over”, the sixth Peter Hammill studio album. It was recorded June-July 1976, at “Foel Studios” in Llanfair Caereinion, Wales, and was produced by Peter Hammill.


  • Peter Hammill– vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Graham Smith– violin
  • Nic Potter– bass
  • Guy Evans– drums
  • Michael Brand – orchestra conductor
  • Dave Anderson, Ian Gomm – engineers
  • Pat Moran – engineer
  • Frank Sansom – art direction
  • Sebastian Keep – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Peter Hammill.

  1. Crying Wolf
  2. Autumn
  3. Time Heals
  4. Alice (Letting Go)
  5. This Side Of The Looking Glass
  6. Betrayed
  7. (On Tuesdays She Used To Do) Yoga
  8. Lost And Found

In February 1972.


In February 1972, “United Artists” label released “Silver Pistol”, the third Brinsley Schwarz album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by Dave Robinson.


  • Brinsley Schwarz- guitar
  • Ian Gomm- bass, guitar, vocals
  • Billy Rankin- drums
  • Bob Andrews- keyboards, vocals
  • Nick Lowe- bass, guitar, vocals
  • Anton Matthews – engineer, mixing
  • Chris Hollebone – mobile engineer
  • Jeff Powell – design, art direction

Track listing:

All tracks composed by Nick Lowe; except where noted.

  1. Dry Land – Ian Gomm
  2. Merry Go Round
  3. One More Day – Ian Gomm
  4. Nightingale
  5. Silver Pistol
  6. The Last Time I Was Fooled
  7. Unknown Number
  8. Range War – Ian Gomm
  9. Egypt
  10. Niki Hoeke Speedway – Jim Ford
  11. Ju Ju Man – Jim Ford, Lolly Vegas
  12. Rockin’ Chair – Ian Gomm