On February 17, 1969.

cloud 9

On February 17, 1969, “Gordy” label released “Cloud Nine”, the ninth Temptations studio album. It was recorded 1968 – January 1969, and was produced by Norman Whitfield. This was first Temptations studio album to feature Dennis Edwards as the replacement for David Ruffin, and it marks the beginning of the Temptations’ psychedelia period, in a fusion genre referred to as “psychedelic soul.” In 1969, the album won The Temptations their first “Grammy Award”.


  • Dennis Edwards– vocals (tenor)
  • Eddie Kendricks– vocals (tenor/falsetto)
  • Paul Williams– vocals (tenor/baritone)
  • Melvin Franklin– vocals (bass)
  • Otis Williams– vocals (tenor/baritone)

Track listing:

  1. Cloud Nine – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  2. I Heard It Through the Grapevine – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  3. Run Away Child, Running Wild – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  4. Love Is a Hurtin’ Thing – Ben Raleigh, Dave Linden
  5. Hey Girl – Gerry Goffin, Carole King
  6. Why Did She Have to Leave Me (Why Did She Have to Go) – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  7. I Need Your Lovin’ – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  8. Don’t Let Him Take Your Love From Me – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  9. I Gotta Find a Way (To Get You Back) – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield,Eddie Holland, Cornelius Grant, Eddie Kendricks
  10. Gonna Keep on Tryin’ till I Win Your Love – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.