Tag Archives: Bob West

In February 1968.

In February 1968, “Warner Bros” label released “The Mason Williams Phonograph Record”, the 20th Mason Williams album. It was recorded in 1967, and was produced by Mike Post. Mason Williams won two “Grammy Awards”, for “Best Pop Instrumental Performance” and “Best Instrumental Theme”. Mike Post won “Best Instrumental Arrangement on the Song”.


  • Mason Williams – guitar
  • Carl Fortina – accordion
  • Bob West, Lawrence Knechtel, Lyle Ritz – bass
  • Armand Kaproff, Jerome Kessler, Jesse Ehrlich, Joe DiTullio – cello
  • Lyle Ritz– double bass
  • James Beck Gordon– drums
  • David Duke, William Hinshaw – French horn, tuba
  • Alvin Casey, David Cohen, James Burton, Michael Deasy– guitar
  • Gail Levant – harp
  • Gary L. Coleman, Gene Estes – percussion
  • Lawrence Knechtel, Michael Melvoin– piano
  • Richard J. Hyde, Hoyt Bohannon, Lew McCreary, Richard Leith – trombone
  • David Burk, Emanuel Moss, George Kast, Harry Bluestone, Israel Baker, Jack Gootkin, Jimmy Getzoff, Jerry Reisler, John Vidor, Ralph Schaeffer, Robert Korda, Robert Sushel, Sidney Sharp, Stan Plummer, Tibor Zelig, William Kurasch – violin
  • Jim Horn, Tommy Scott – woodwind
  • Phil Kaye – effects
  • Stan Cornyn – liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Mason Williams, except where noted.

  1. Overture – Mike Post
  2. All of the Time
  3. Dylan Thomas
  4. Wanderlove
  5. She’s Gone Away
  6. Here Am I – Brown, Mason Williams
  7. Classical Gas
  8. Long Time Blues – Ellington, Mason Williams
  9. Baroque-a-Nova – Blye, Mason Williams
  10. The Princes Panties
  11. Life Song
  12. Sunflower

In December 1967.

In December 1967, “Warner Bros” label released “Song Cycle”, the debut Van Dyke Parks album. It, was recorded in 1967 at “Sunset Sound Recorders” in Hollywood, and was produced by Lenny Waronker.


  • Van Dyke Parks– main performer, vocals
  • Ron Elliott, Dick Rosmini– guitar
  • Misha Goodatieff – violin
  • Virginia Majewski – viola
  • Carl Fortina – accordion
  • Nicolai Bolin, Vasil Crlenica, William Nadel, Alan Reuss, Leon Stewart, Thomas Tedesco– balalaika
  • Don Bagley, Gregory Bemko, Chuck Berghofer, Harry Bluestone, Samuel Boghossian, Dennis Budimir, Joseph Ditullio, Jesse Ehrlich, Nathan Gershman, Philip Goldberg, Armand Kaproff, William Kurasch, Leonard Malarsky, Jerome Reisler, Orville Rhodes, Trefoni Rizzi, Lyle Ritz, Joseph Saxon, Ralph Schaffer, Leonard Selic, Frederick Seykora, Darrel Terwilliger, Bob West – strings
  • Gayle Levant – harp
  • Norman Benno, Arthur Briegleb, Vincent DeRosa, George Fields, William Green, James Horn, Richard Hyde, Jay Migliori, Thomas Morgan, Ted Nash, Richard Perissi, Thomas Scott, Thomas Shepard– woodwind
  • Billie J. Barnum, Gerri Engeman, Karen Gunderson, James and Vanessa Hendricks, Durrie and Gaile Parks, Julia E. Rinker, Paul Jay Robbins, Nik Woods – choir
  • Hal Blaine, Gary Coleman, James Gordon, Earl Palmer– percussion
  • Steve Young– folk (“Vine Street” introduction tape)

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Dyke Parks, except where noted.

  1. Vine Street – Randy Newman
  2. Palm Desert
  3. Widow’s Talk
  4. Laurel Canyon Blvd
  5. The All Golden
  6. Van Dyke Parks (Public Domain)
  7. Public Domain
  8. Donovan’s Colours – Donovan Leitch
  9. The Attic
  10. Laurel Canyon Blvd
  11. By the People
  12. Pot Pourri


In November 1974.

In November 1974, “Mercury” label released “Bluejeans & Moonbeams”, the ninth Captain Beefheart album. It was recorded in August 1974, at “Stronghold Sound Recorders” in Hollywood, and was produced by Andy DiMartino.  The album cover was a painting by Victor Hayden.


  • Captain Beefheart(Don Van Vliet) – vocals, harmonica
  • Dean Smith – guitar, bottleneck guitar
  • Michael Smotherman – keyboards, backing vocals
  • Ty Grimes – percussion
  • Ira Ingber – bass
  • Bob West – bass
  • Gene Pello – drums
  • Jimmy Caravan – keyboard, star machine
  • Mark Gibbons – keyboards

Track listing:

  1. Party of Special Things to Do – Don Van Vliet, Elliot Ingber
  2. Same Old Blues – J. J. Cale
  3. Observatory Crest – Don Van Vliet, Elliot Ingber
  4. Pompadour Swamp – Don Van Vliet
  5. Captain’s Holiday – Feldman, W. Richmond, S. Hickerson, C. Blackwell
  6. Rock ‘n Roll’s Evil Doll – Don Van Vliet, Mark Gibbons, Ira Ingber
  7. Further Than We’ve Gone – Don Van Vliet
  8. Twist ah Luck – Don Van Vliet, Mark Gibbons, Ira Ingber
  9. Bluejeans & Moonbeams – Don Van Vliet

On October 10, 1966.


On October 10, 1966, “Colgems” label released the debut, self-titled The Monkees album. It was recorded in 1966, and was produced by Tommy Boyce, Bobby Hart, Jack Keller and Michael Nesmith. The album has been certified 5 Platinum in the US by the “RIAA”.


  • Micky Dolenz, Davy Jones, Michael Nesmith – lead vocals
  • Tommy Boyce, Bobby Hart, Gerry McGee , Wayne Erwin, Davy Jones, Ron Hicklin – backing vocals
  • Wayne Erwin, Gerry McGee, Peter Tork, James Burton, Glen Campbell, Al Casey, James Helms, Don Peake Louie Shelton – guitars
  • Larry Taylor, William Pitman, Bob West – bass
  • Peter Tork, James Burton, Glen Campbell, Al Casey, Mike Deasey – dano bass
  • Billy Lewis, Hal Blaine, Frank DeVito, Jim Gordon – drums
  • Gene Estes, Gary Coleman, David Walters, Jim Gordon – percussion
  • Bobby Hart – organ
  • Jack Keller, Larry Knechtel – piano
  • Michael Rubini – Harpsichord
  • Bonnie Douglas, Paul Shure – violins
  • Myra Kestenbuam – viola
  • Fred Seykora, Joseph Ditullio – cello
  • Bob Cooper – oboe
  • Keith Allison – harmonica
  • Bobby Hart – glockenspiel

Track listing:

  1. (Theme from) The Monkees – Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart
  2. Saturdays’s Child – David Gates
  3. I Wanna Be Free – Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart
  4. Tomorrow’s Gonna Be Another Day – Tommy Boyce and Steve Venet
  5. Papa Gene’s Blues – Michael Nesmith
  6. Take a Giant Step – Gerry Goffin, Carole King
  7. Last Train to Clarksville – Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart
  8. This Just Doesn’t Seem to Be My Day – Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart
  9. Let’s Dance On – Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart
  10. I’ll Be True to You – Gerry Goffin, Russ Titelman
  11. Sweet Young Thing – Gerry Goffin, Carole King, Michael Nesmith
  12. Gonna Buy Me a Dog – Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart



On January 22, 1968.

Dr John Night tripper

On January 22, 1968, “Atco” label released “Gris-Gris”, the debut Dr. John (Mac Rebennack) album.  It was recorded in 1967, at the “Gold Star Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Harold Battiste. Magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked “Gris-Gris” at number 143 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Harold Battiste- arranger, bass, clarinet, percussion
  • Dr. John- vocals, keyboards, guitar, percussion
  • Richard ‘Didimus’ Washington – guitar, mandolin, percussion
  • Plas Johnson- saxophone
  • Lonnie Boulden – flute
  • Steve Mann – guitar, banjo
  • Ernest McLean- guitar, mandolin
  • Bob West – bass
  • Mo Pedido – congas
  • John Boudreaux – drums
  • Dave Dixon, Jessie Hill, Ronnie Barron- backing vocals, percussion
  • Joni Jonz, Prince Ella Johnson, Shirley Goodman, Sonny Ray Durden, Tami Lynn- backing vocals
  • Marvin Israel– design

Track listing:

  1. Gris-Gris Gumbo Ya Ya – Dr. John Creaux
  2. Danse Kalinda Ba Doom – Dr. John Creaux and Harold Battiste
  3. Mama Roux – Dr. John and Jessie Hill
  4. Danse Fambeaux – Dr. John Creaux
  5. Croker Courtbullion – Harold Battiste
  6. Jump Sturdy – Dr. John Creaux
  7. I Walk on Guilded Splinters – Dr. John Creaux