Tag Archives: If I Were a Bell

Curtis Fuller: Boss of the Soul-Stream Trombone

In June 1961, “Warwick” label released “Boss of the Soul-Stream Trombone”, the eleventh Curtis Fuller album. It was recorded in December 1960, at “Mercury Sound Studio” in New York City.


  • Curtis Fuller – trombone
  • Freddie Hubbard – trumpet
  • Yusef Lateef – tenor saxophone
  • Walter Bishop, Jr. – piano
  • Buddy Catlett – bass
  • Stu Martin – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Curtis Fuller except where noted.

  1. Chantized
  2. Flutie
  3. If I Were a Bell – Frank Loesser
  4. But Beautiful – Johnny Burke, Jimmy Van Heusen
  5. Do I Love You? – Cole Porter
  6. The Court
  7. Mr. L

The Miles Davis Quintet: Relaxin’ With

In March 1958, “Prestige” label released “Relaxin’ with the Miles Davis Quintet”, the 24th Miles Davis album. It was recorded in October 1956, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, New Jersey, and was produced by Bob Weinstock.


  • Miles Davis – trumpet
  • John Coltrane – tenor saxophone
  • Red Garland – piano
  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Philly Joe Jones – drums

Track listing:

  1. If I Were a Bell – Frank Loesser
  2. You’re My Everything – Harry Warren
  3. I Could Write a Book – Richard Rodgers
  4. Oleo – Sonny Rollins
  5. It Could Happen to You – Jimmy Van Heusen
  6. Woody ’n’ You – Dizzy Gillespie