Tag Archives: 100 best albums of all time

On January 8, 1973.

On January 8, 1973, “Brother” label released “Holland”, the nineteenth Beach Boys studio album. It was recorded June – October 1972, at “BBC 2 Studio” in  Baambrugge, Utrecht, Netherlands, and “Village Recorders” in California, and was produced by Brian Wilson, Carl Wilson, Dennis Wilson, Blondie Chapin, Ricky Fataar, Alan Jardine and Mike Love. In 2007, the Netherland magazine “OOR Magazine” ranked the album among “100 Best Albums of All Time”.


  • Brian Wilson– vocals, narration
  • Carl Wilson– vocals, guitar, piano, electric piano
  • Dennis Wilson– vocals, piano
  • Blondie Chaplin– vocals, bass guitar, guitar
  • Ricky Fataar– vocals, drums, slide guitar
  • Alan Jardine– vocals, guitar
  • Mike Love– vocals
  • Daryl Dragon– Moog bass
  • Bruce Johnston– backup vocals
  • Jack Rieley – narration

Track listing:

  1. Sail On Sailor – Brian Wilson, Tandyn Almer, Ray Kennedy, Jack Rieley, Van Dyke Parks
  2. Steamboat – Dennis Wilson, Jack Rieley
  3. California Saga: Big Sur – Mike Love
  4. California Saga: The Beaks of Eagles – Robinson Jeffers, Al Jardine, Lynda Jardine
  5. California Saga: California – Al Jardine
  6. The Trader – Carl Wilson, Jack Rieley
  7. Leaving This Town – Ricky Fataar, Blondie Chapin, Carl Wilson
  8. Only With You – Dennis Wilson, Mike Love
  9. Funky Pretty – Brian Wilson, Mike Love, Jack Rieley



In September 1978.

In September 1978, “Chrysalis” label released “Parallel Lines”, the third Blondie studio album. It was recorded June – July 1978, at “Record Plant” in New York City, and was produced by Mike Chapman. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Parallel Lines” at number 140 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. “NME” magazine ranked the album at number 18 on its list of the “100 Best Albums of All Timeand at number 45 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. The album was certified 4 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in Uk by “BPI”, and Platinum in US by “RIIA”.


  • Deborah Harry– vocals
  • Chris Stein– guitar, 12-string guitar, E-bow
  • Clem Burke– drums
  • Jimmy Destri– electronic keyboards
  • Nigel Harrison– bass guitar
  • Frank Infante– guitar
  • Robert Fripp– guitar
  • Pete Coleman – engineering, assisting production
  • Steve Hall – mastering
  • Grey Russell – assistant engineer
  • Frank Duarte – illustration
  • Edo Bertoglio – photography
  • Maripol – stylist
  • Ramey Communications – art directionand design
  • Jerry Rodriguez – lettering

Track listing:

  1. Hanging on the Telephone – Jack Lee
  2. One Way or Another – Deborah Harry, Nigel Harrison
  3. Picture This – Deborah Harry, Chris Stein, Jimmy Destri
  4. Fade Away and Radiate – Chris Stein
  5. Pretty Babe – Deborah Harry, Chris Stein
  6. I Know but I Don’t Know – Frank Infante
  7. 11:59 – Jimmy Destri
  8. Will Anything Happen? – Jack Lee
  9. Sunday Girl – Chris Stein
  10. Heart of Glass – Deborah Harry, Chris Stein
  11. I’m Gonna Love You Too – Joe B. Mauldin, Niki Sullivan, Norman Petty
  12. Just Go Away – Deborah Harry


On October 23, 2000.


On October 23, 2000, “Island” label released “Stories from the City, Stories from the Sea”, the fifth PJ Harvey studio album. It was recorded March–April 2000, at “Great Linford Manor” in Milton Keynes, UK, and was produced by Rob Ellis, Mick Harvey and PJ Harvey. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 8 on its list of “The 50 Essential “Women in Rock” Albums”. In 2002, “Q” magazine named “Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea” the “Greatest Album of All-Time by a Female Artist”.In 2006, “Time” magazine choose the album as one of the “100 Best Albums of All Time”. The album was certified Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”, and Platinum in UK by “BPI”.


  • PJ Harvey– vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards, piano, djembe, maracas, e-bow,  engineer
  • Rob Ellis– drums, piano, tambourine, synthesizer, keyboards, bells, harpsichord, electric piano, vibraphone, background vocals
  • Mick Harvey– organ, bass, drums, percussion, harmonium, keyboards, accordion, background vocals
  • Thom Yorke– vocals, keyboards
  • Victor Van Vugt– engineer, mixing
  • Head – engineer, mixing
  • Howie Weinberg- mastering
  • Rob Crane – design
  • Maria Mochnacz – design, photography                                                      Track listing:

All tracks by PJ Harvey.

  1. Big Exit
  2. Good Fortune
  3. A Place Called Home
  4. One Line
  5. Beautiful Feeling
  6. The Whores Hustle and the Hustlers Whore
  7. This Mess We’re In
  8. You Said Something
  9. Kamikaze
  10. This Is Love
  11. Horses in My Dreams
  12. We Float


On March 3, 1986.


On March 3, 1986, “Elektra” label released “Master of Puppets”, the third Metallica studio album. It was recorded September – December 1985, at “Sweet Silence Studios” in Copenhagen, and was produced by James Hetfield, Kirk Hammett, Cliff Burton, Lars Ulrich and Flemming Rasmussen. The album cover was designed by Metallica and Peter Mensch and painted by Don Brautigam.“Master of Puppets” was the band’s last album to feature bassist Cliff Burton, who died in a bus crash in Sweden during the album’s promotional tour. In 2003, “Master of Puppets” was certified 6× platinum by the “Recording Industry Association of America”, 6× platinum by “Music Canada” and gold by the “British Phonographic Industry”. Magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked “Master of Puppets” at number 167 on its list of the “500 greatest albums of all time”; “Time” included the album in its list of the “100 best albums of all time”; magazine “Guitar World” voted “Master of Puppets” the fourth greatest guitar album of all time.


  • James Hetfield– lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Kirk Hammett– lead guitar
  • Cliff Burton– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Lars Ulrich – drums
  • Peter Mensch– cover concept
  • Don Brautigam – cover illustration
  • Ross Halfin, Rich Likong, Rob Ellsi – photography

Track listing:

All lyrics written by James Hetfield.

  1. Battery – James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich
  2. Master of Puppets – James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich, Cliff Burton, Kirk Hammett
  3. The Thing That Should Not Be – James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich, Kirk Hammett
  4. Welcome Home (Sanitarium) – James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich, Kirk Hammett
  5. Disposable Heroes – James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich, Kirk Hammett
  6. Leper Messiah – James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich
  7. Orion – James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich, Cliff Burton
  8. Damage Inc. – James Hetfield, lars Ulrich, Cliff Burton, Kirk Hammett


On December 17, 1971.

Hunky Dory

On December 17, 1971, “RCA” label released “Hunky Dory”, the fourth David Bowie album. It was recorded June – August 1971, at the “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by David Bowie and Ken Scott. In 2010, “Time” magazine placed the album on its list of “100 best albums of all time”.


  • David Bowie– vocals, guitar, alto and tenor saxophone, piano
  • Mick Ronson– guitar, vocals, Mellotron, arrangements
  • Rick Wakeman– piano
  • Trevor Bolder– bass guitar, trumpet
  • Mick Woodmansey– drums
  • George Underwood– cover art

Track listing:

All tracks by David Bowie, except where noted.

  1. Changes
  2. Oh! You Pretty Things
  3. Eight Line Poem
  4. Life on Mars
  5. Kooks
  6. Quicksand
  7. Fill Your Heart – Biff Rose, Paul Williams
  8. Andy Warhol
  9. Song for Bob Dylan
  10. Queen Bitch
  11. The Bewlay Brothers