On October 23, 2000.


On October 23, 2000, “Island” label released “Stories from the City, Stories from the Sea”, the fifth PJ Harvey studio album. It was recorded March–April 2000, at “Great Linford Manor” in Milton Keynes, UK, and was produced by Rob Ellis, Mick Harvey and PJ Harvey. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 8 on its list of “The 50 Essential “Women in Rock” Albums”. In 2002, “Q” magazine named “Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea” the “Greatest Album of All-Time by a Female Artist”.In 2006, “Time” magazine choose the album as one of the “100 Best Albums of All Time”. The album was certified Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”, and Platinum in UK by “BPI”.


  • PJ Harvey– vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards, piano, djembe, maracas, e-bow,  engineer
  • Mick Harvey– organ, bass, drums, percussion, harmonium, keyboards, accordion, backing vocals
  • Thom Yorke– vocals, keyboards
  • Rob Ellis– drums, piano, tambourine, synthesizer, keyboards, bells, harpsichord, electric piano, vibraphone, backing vocals
  • Victor Van Vugt– engineer, mixing
  • Head – engineer, mixing
  • Howie Weinberg- mastering
  • Rob Crane – design
  • Maria Mochnacz – design, photography

Track listing:

All tracks by PJ Harvey.

  1. Big Exit
  2. Good Fortune
  3. A Place Called Home
  4. One Line
  5. Beautiful Feeling
  6. The Whores Hustle and the Hustlers Whore
  7. This Mess We’re In
  8. You Said Something
  9. Kamikaze
  10. This Is Love
  11. Horses in My Dreams
  12. We Float


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.