Tag Archives: TV

On July 28, 1979.

On July 28, 1979, “Virgin” label released the self-titled, debut Flying Lizards album. It was recorded 1978 – 1979, at “Berry Street Studio”, “Brixton Academy” in London, and in New York City, Munich, and Maidstone, and was produced by David Cunningham.


  • David Cunningham – engineer
  • Steve Beresford – guitar, bass, keyboards
  • David Toop
  • Michael Upton
  • Julian Marshall
  • Dave Hunt – engineer
  • Laurie Rae Chamberlain – sleeve art
  • Richard Rayner-Canham – sleeve art, photography

Track listing:

All tracks by David Cunningham except where noted

  1. Der Song von Mandelay (Mandelay Song) – Bertolt Brecht, Kurt Weill
  2. Her Story – Dave Solomon, David Cunningham, General-Strike, Vivien Goldman
  3. TV – David Cunningham, Deborah Evans-Stickland, General-Strike
  4. Russia
  5. Summertime Blues – Eddie Cochran, Jerry Capehart
  6. Money (That’s What I Want) – Berry Gordy, Janie Bradford
  7. The Flood
  8. Trouble
  9. Events During Flood
  10. The Window – Vivien Goldman

On February 9, 2018.

On February 9, 2018, Jóhann Jóhannsson died aged 48. He was composer who was composing music for theatre, dance, TV  and movies. Some of his movie works include original scores for “Personal Effects” by David Hollander, “For Ellen” by So Yong Kim, “McCanick” by John C. Waller, “Prisoners” by Denis Villeneuve, Sicario by Denis Villeneuve, “Arrival” by Denis Villeneuve, “The Mercy” by James Marsh and “Mary Magdalene” by Garth Davis. For the score for James Marsh’s “The Theory of Everything”, Jóhannsson won a “Golden Globe” for “Best Original Score”. In the period 2002 – 2016, he released nine solo albums.

On July 22, 1977.

My Aim_is True

On July 22, 1977, “Stiff” label released “My Aim Is True”, the debut Elvis Costello  album. It was recorded 1976 – 1977, at “Pathway Studios” in London, and was produced by Nick Lowe. The album cover was designed by Barney Bubbles. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “My Aim Is True” at number 168 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”; the same year, the TV network “VH1” named “My Aim Is True” the 80th greatest album of all time. In 2007, the album was inducted into the “Grammy Hall of Fame”.


  • Elvis Costello– vocals, guitar, piano and drumsticks
  • John McFee– lead guitar, pedal steel guitar, backing vocals
  • Sean Hopper– piano, organ, backing vocals
  • Mickey Shine – drums
  • Stan Shaw – organ
  • Nick Lowe– backing vocals, piano, drumsticks, bass
  • Andrew Bodnar– bass
  • Steve Goulding– drums
  • Johnny Ciambotti – bass, backing vocals
  • Steve Nieve– organ and piano overdubs

Track listing:

All tracks by Elvis Costello.

  1. Welcome to the Working Week
  2. Miracle Man
  3. No Dancing
  4. Blame It on Cain
  5. Alison
  6. Sneaky Feelings
  7. (The Angels Wanna Wear My) Red Shoes
  8. Less Than Zero
  9. Mystery Dance
  10. Pay It Back
  11. I’m Not Angry
  12. Waiting for the End of the World



On June 3, 1977.


On June 3, 1977, “Island” label released “Exodus”, the ninth Bob Marley and the Wailers studio album. It was recorded 1976 – 1977, at “Harry J. Studio” in Kingston, and “Island Studios” in London, and was produced by Bob Marley and the Wailers. In 1999,  “Time”  magazine named “Exodus” the best album of the 20th century. In 2001, the TV network “VH1” named it the 26th greatest album of all time. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 169 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of all Time”.


  • Bob Marley– lead vocal, rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar, percussion
  • Aston “Family Man” Barrett– bass guitar, guitar, percussion
  • Carlton Barrett– drums, percussion
  • Tyrone Downie– keyboards, percussion, backing vocals
  • Alvin “Seeco” Patterson– percussion
  • Julian (Junior) Marvin– lead guitar
  • I Threes(Rita Marley, Marcia Griffiths, Judy Mowatt) – backing vocals
  • Karl Pitterson– engineer
  • Robert Honablue – engineer
  • Ted Jensen– mastering engineer
  • Guy Bidmead, Terry Barham – assistant engineers
  • Aston “Familyman” Barrett, Chris Blackwell, Karl Pitterson– mixing
  • Adrian Boot, Neville Garrick– photos
  • Neville Garrick – cover design, graphics

Track listing:

All tracks by Bob Marley, except where noted.

  1. Natural Mystic
  2. So Much Things to Say
  3. Guiltiness
  4. The Heathen
  5. Exodus
  6. Jamming
  7. Waiting in Vain
  8. Turn Your Lights Down Low
  9. Three Little Birds
  10. One Love / People Get Ready – Bob Marley , Curtis Mayfield