On July 22, 1977.

My Aim_is True

On July 22, 1977, “Stiff” label released “My Aim Is True”, the debut Elvis Costello  album. It was recorded 1976 – 1977, at “Pathway Studios” in London, and was produced by Nick Lowe. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “My Aim Is True” at number 168 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”; the same year, the TV network “VH1” named “My Aim Is True” the 80th greatest album of all time. In 2007, the album was inducted into the “Grammy Hall of Fame”.


  • Elvis Costello– vocals, guitar, piano, drumsticks
  • Nick Lowe– piano, bass, drumsticks, backing vocals,
  • John McFee– lead guitar, pedal steel guitar, backing vocals
  • Sean Hopper– piano, organ, backing vocals
  • Stan Shaw – organ
  • Steve Nieve– organ and piano overdubs
  • Johnny Ciambotti – bass, backing vocals
  • Andrew Bodnar– bass
  • Mickey Shine – drums
  • Steve Goulding– drums
  • Barney Bubbles – design

Track listing:

All tracks by Elvis Costello.

  1. Welcome to the Working Week
  2. Miracle Man
  3. No Dancing
  4. Blame It on Cain
  5. Alison
  6. Sneaky Feelings
  7. (The Angels Wanna Wear My) Red Shoes
  8. Less Than Zero
  9. Mystery Dance
  10. Pay It Back
  11. I’m Not Angry
  12. Waiting for the End of the World



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.