Tag Archives: Tony Lane

On February 8, 1977.

On February 8, 1977, “Elektra” label released “Marquee Moon”, the debut Television studio album. It was recorded in September 1976, at “A&R Recording” in New York City, and was produced by Andy Johns and Tom Verlaine. In 2003, “NME” magazine named “Marque Moon” the fourth-greatest album of all time. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked it at number 128 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.


  • Tom Verlaine– guitar, keyboards, lead vocals
  • Billy Ficca– drums
  • Richard Lloyd– guitar, vocals
  • Fred Smith– bass guitar, vocals
  • Jim Boyer – assistant engineering
  • Greg Calbi, Lee Hulko – mastering
  • Jimmy Douglass – assistant mixing
  • Andy Johns– engineering, mixing
  • Tony Lane – art direction
  • Billy Lobo – back cover artwork
  • Robert Mapplethorpe– photography
  • Randy Mason – assistant mixing
  • John Telfer – management

Track listing:

All tracks by Tom Verlaine, except where noted.

  1. See No Evil
  2. Venus
  3. Friction
  4. Marquee Moon
  5. Elevation
  6. Guiding Light – Tom Verlaine, Richard Lloyd
  7. Prove It
  8. Torn Curtain

In August 1986.

In August 1986, “Columbia” label released “Fahrenheit”, the sixth Toto studio album. It was recorded in 1986, at “Record One”; “Manor Studio”; “The Complex” in Los Angeles; “Bill Schnee Studios”; “The Villa” in Hollywood, and was produced by Joseph Williams, Steve Lukather, David Paich, Steve Porcaro, Mike Porcaro and Jeff Porcaro .


  • Joseph Williams– lead vocals, backing vocals
  • Steve Lukather– guitars, backing vocals, lead vocals
  • David Paich– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Steve Porcaro– synthesizers
  • Mike Porcaro– bass guitar
  • Jeff Porcaro– drums, percussion
  • David Sanborn- saxophone
  • Miles Davis- trumpet
  • Amin Bhatia– synthesizer
  • Lenny Castro, Paulinho da Costa, Steve Jordan, Jim Keltner, Joe Porcaro – percussion
  • Paulette Brown, Michael Sherwood, Tony Walters, Fergie Frederiksen, Don Henley, Michael McDonald – backing vocals
  • Jerry Hey- horn arrangements
  • Chuck Findley, Gary Grant, Jerry Hey, Charles Loper, Bill Reichenbach Jr., Tom Scott, Larry Williams – horns
  • Engineers: Tom Knox , Shep Lonsdale
  • Additional engineering: Dan Garcia, Murray Dvorkin, John Jessel, Julie Last, Doug Linnell, Teruo “Mu” Murakami, Jack Joseph Puig, Mike Ross and Duane Seykora
  • Technicians: Keith Albright, Brent Averill, Bob Bradshaw, Paul Jamieson, John Jessel, Art Kelm, Roger Linn, Roger Nichols, Eli Slawson
  • Mixing: Greg Ladanyi, Tom Knox
  • Production coordination: Chris Littleton
  • Art direction: Tony Lane, Nancy Donald
  • Photography: Michael Going
  • Sleeve photography: Jim Shea

Track listing:

  1. Till the End – David Paich, Joseph Williams
  2. We Can Make It Tonight – Barry Bregman, Jeff Porcaro, Joseph Williams
  3. Can’t Stand It Any Longer – David Paich
  4. Can’t Stand It Any Longer – Steve Lukather, David Paich, Joseph Williams
  5. I’ll Be Over You – Randy Goodrum, Steve Lukather
  6. Fahrenheit – David Paich, Jeff Porcaro, Joseph Williams
  7. Somewhere Tonight – Steve Lukather, David Paich, Jeff Porcaro
  8. Could This Be Love – David Paich, Joseph Williams, Fergie Frederiksen
  9. Lea – Steve Porcaro
  10. Don’t Stop Me Now – Steve Lukather, David Paich

In March 1974.

In March 1974, “Columbia” label released “Slow Dancer”, the sixth Boz Scaggs album. It was recorded in 1973, and was produced by Johnny Bristol.


  • Boz Scaggs – vocals, guitar
  • David Cohen, David T. Walker, Dennis Coffee, Greg Poree, Jay Graydon, Wah Wah Watson, Orville “Red” Rhodes- guitars
  • Clarence McDonald, Jerry Peters, Joe Sample, Michael Melvoin, Russell Turner – keyboards
  • James Jamerson, James Hughart – bass
  • Ernie Watts, Fred Jackson, John Kelson – saxophone
  • George Bohanon, Lon Norman – trombone
  • Chuck Findley, Jack Laubach, Paul Hubinon, Warren Roche – trumpet, flugehorn
  • Gene Estes, John Arnold – percussion, vibraphone
  • Ed Greene, James Gadson- drums
  • Joe Clayton, King Errison – congas
  • Carolyn Willis, Julia Tillman, Lorna Willard, Myrna Matthews, Pat Henderson – background vocals
  • Arranged by B. Barnum
  • Engineer – Greg Venable
  • Remix – Al Schmitt
  • Photography – Ethan Russell
  • Artwork by Tony Lane

Track listing:

All tracks by Boz Scaggs; except where noted.

  1. You Make It So Hard (To Say No)
  2. Slow Dancer – George Daly, Boz Scaggs
  3. Angel Lady (Come Just In Time) – Johnny Bristol, Jack McDonough, Boz Scaggs
  4. There Is Someone Else
  5. Hercules – Allen Toussaint
  6. Pain of Love – Johnny Bristol
  7. Sail on White Moon – Johnny Bristol
  8. Let It Happen – Johnny Bristol, Boz Scaggs
  9. I Got Your Number – Johnny Bristol, Eddie Reeves
  10. Take It for Granted

In January 1970.


In January 1970, “CBS” label released the debut; self-titled Argent album. It was recorded in 1969, at “Sound Techniques” in London, and was produced by Rod Argent and Chris White.


  • Russ Ballard– guitar, lead and backing vocals, piano
  • Rod Argent– organ, lead and backing vocals, electric and acoustic pianos
  • Jim Rodford– bass, backing vocals
  • Robert Henrit– drums, percussion
  • Jerry Boys – engineer
  • Tony Lane- artwork, cover design

Track listing:

All tracks by Rod Argent and Chris White, except where noted.

  1. Like Honey
  2. Liar – Russ Ballard
  3. Be Free
  4. Schoolgirl – Russ Ballard
  5. Dance in the Smoke
  6. Lonely Hard Road – Russ Ballard
  7. The Feeling Inside
  8. Free Fall
  9. Sleeping Stone
  10. Bring You Joy

On April 11, 1972.


On April 11, 1972, “Fantasy” label released “Mardi Grass”, the seventh and final Creedence Clearwater Revival studio album. It was recorded in spring 1971, at “Wally Heider Studios”, January 1972 at “Fantasy Records Studio A”, and was produced by Doug Clifford, Stu Cook and John Fogerty. Following the album’s release, Creedence Clearwater Revival were officially dissolved on 16 October in a statement released by the band.


  • Doug Clifford- drums, vocals
  • Stu Cook- bass, rhythm guitar, lead guitar, piano, vocals
  • John Fogerty- lead guitar, rhythm guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • Engineer: Russ Gary, Kevin L. Gray, Steve Hoffman
  • Mastering supervisor: Tamaki Beck
  • Mastering: Shigeo Miyamoto
  • Remastering: George Horn
  • Doug Clifford, Stu Cook, John Fogerty – arrangements
  • Tony Lane – art direction, design
  • Bob Fogerty, Baron Wolman – photography

Track listing:

  1. Looking for a Reason – John Fogerty
  2. Take It Like a Friend – Stu Cook
  3. Need Someone to Hold – Stu Cook, Doug Clifford
  4. Tearin’ Up the Country – Doug Clifford
  5. What Are You Gonna Do? – Doug Clifford
  6. Sail Away – Stu Cook
  7. Hello Mary Lou – Gene Pitney, Cayet Mangiaracina
  8. Door to Door – Stu Cook
  9. Sweet Hitch-Hiker – John Fogerty