On April 11, 1972.


On April 11, 1972, “Fantasy” label released “Mardi Grass”, the seventh and final Creedence Clearwater Revival studio album. It was recorded in spring 1971, at “Wally Heider Studios”, January 1972 at “Fantasy Records Studio A”, and was produced by Doug Clifford, Stu Cook and John Fogerty. Following the album’s release, Creedence Clearwater Revival were officially dissolved on 16 October in a statement released by the band.


  • John Fogerty – vocals, lead and rhythm guitar, keyboards, arrangements
  • Stu Cook – vocals, bass, lead and rhythm guitar, piano, arrangements
  • Doug Clifford – vocals, drums, arrangements
  • Russ Gary, Kevin L. Gray, Steve Hoffman – engineer
  • Shigeo Miyamoto – mastering
  • Tamaki Beck – mastering supervisor
  • George Horn – remastering
  • Tony Lane – art direction, design
  • Bob Fogerty, Baron Wolman – photography

Track listing:

  1. Looking for a Reason – John Fogerty
  2. Take It Like a Friend – Stu Cook
  3. Need Someone to Hold – Stu Cook, Doug Clifford
  4. Tearin’ Up the Country – Doug Clifford
  5. What Are You Gonna Do? – Doug Clifford
  6. Sail Away – Stu Cook
  7. Hello Mary Lou – Gene Pitney, Cayet Mangiaracina
  8. Door to Door – Stu Cook
  9. Sweet Hitch-Hiker – John Fogerty

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.