Tag Archives: Steppenwolf

In November 1971.

In November 1971, “Dunhill” label released “For Ladies Only”, the sixth Steppenwolf studio album. It was recorded November 1970 – May 1971, at “American Recording Studios” in Studio City, California, and was produced by Richard Podolor.


  • John Kay– vocals, guitar
  • Kent Henry– lead guitar
  • George Biondo– vocals, bass guitar
  • Goldy McJohn– keyboards
  • Jerry Edmonton– drums
  • Bill Cooper – engineer
  • Tom Gundelfinger – photography, design

Track listing:

  1. For Ladies Only – Jerry Edmonton, Kent Henry, John Kay, Goldy McJohn
  2. I’m Asking – Jerry Edmonton, Goldy McJohn
  3. Shackles and Chains – John Kay
  4. Tenderness – Mars Bonfire
  5. The Night Time’s for You – Mars Bonfire, Morgan Cavett
  6. Jaded Strumpet – Jerry Edmonton
  7. Sparkle Eyes – George Biondo, John Kay
  8. Black Pit – Kent Henry, Goldy McJohn
  9. Ride With Me –Mars  Bonfire
  10. In Hopes of a Garden – George Biondo



In November 1970.

In November 1970, “Dunhill” label released “Steppenwolf 7”, the seventh   Steppenwolf album. It was recorded in 1970, and was produced by Richard Podolor.


  • John Kay– lead vocals, rhythm guitar, harmonica
  • Larry Byrom– lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Goldy McJohn– keyboards
  • George Biondo– bass, backing vocals
  • Jerry Edmonton– drums
  • Richard Podolor, Bill Cooper – engineer
  • Tom Gundelfinger – photography
  • Gary Burden– art direction, liner design, artwork

Track listing:

  1. Ball Crusher
  2. Forty Days and Forty Nights
  3. Fat Jack
  4. Renegade
  5. Foggy Mental Breakdown
  6. Snowblind Friend
  7. Who Needs Ya’
  8. Earschplittenloudenboomer
  9. Hippo Stomp

In November 1969.

In November 1969, “ABC Dunhill” label released “Monster”, the fourth Steppenwolf album. It was recorded in 1969, at “American Recording Co. Studio”, in California, and was produced by Gabriel Mekler.


  • John Kay– vocals, harmonica, guitar
  • Jerry Edmonton– drums
  • Goldy McJohn– keyboards
  • Nick St. Nicholas– bass
  • Larry Byrom– lead guitar
  • Bill Cooper – engineer
  • Richard Podolor– engineer

Track listing:

  1. Monster/Suicide/America – John Kay, Jerry Edmonton, Nick St. Nicholas, Larry Byrom
  2. Draft Resister – John Kay, Goldy McJohn, Larry Byrom
  3. Power Play – John Kay
  4. Move Over – John Kay, Gabriel Mekler
  5. Fag – Larry Byrom, Jerry Edmonton, Nick Nicholas
  6. What Would You Do (If I Did That to You) – Francen, Porter
  7. From Here to There Eventually – John Kay, Goldy McJohn, Jerry Edmonton

In October 1968.

In October 1968, “ABC Dunhill” label released “The Second”, the second  Steppenwolf studio album. It was recorded in 1968, at “American Recording Co”, and was produced by Gabriel Mekler.


  • John Kay– lead vocals, rhythm guitar, harmonica
  • Michael Monarch– lead guitar
  • Goldy McJohn– organ, piano
  • Rushton Moreve– bass
  • Jerry Edmonton– drums, vocals, lead and co-lead vocals
  • Bill Cooper, Richard Podolor– engineer
  • Gary Burden– cover design
  • Henry Diltz– photography

Track listing:

All tracks by John Kay, except where noted.

  1. Faster Than the Speed of Life – Mars Bonfire
  2. Tighten Up Your Wig
  3. None of Your Doing – John Kay, Gabriel Mekler
  4. Spiritual Fantasy
  5. Don’t Step on the Grass, Sam
  6. 28 – Mekler
  7. Magic Carpet Ride – John Kay, Rushton Moreve
  8. Disappointment Number – unknown
  9. Lost and Found by Trial and Error
  10. Hodge, Podge, Strained Through a Leslie
  11. Resurrection
  12. Reflections – JohnKay, Gabriel Mekler


In August 1974.

In August 1974, “Mums” label released “Slow Flux”, the seventh Steppenwolf album. It was recorded in 1974 and was produced by George Blondo, Jerry Edmonton, Bobby Cochran, John Kay and Goldy McJohn.


  • George Biondo- bass guitar, vocals
  • Jerry Edmonton- drums
  • Bobby Cochran- guitar
  • John Kay- guitar, vocals
  • Goldy McJohn- keyboards

Track listing:

  1. Children of Night
  2. Justice Don’t Be Slow
  3. Get into the Wind
  4. Jeraboah
  5. Straight Shootin’ Woman
  6. Smokey Factory Blues
  7. Morning Blue
  8. A Fool’s Fantasy
  9. Fishin’ in the Dark

In March 1969.


In March 1969, “ABC Dunhill Records” label released “At Your Birthday Party”, the third Steppenwolf studio album. It was recorded December 1968 – February 1969, and was produced by Gabriel Mekler. The album cover design was by Gary Burden.


  • John Kay- lead vocals, rhythm guitar, harmonica
  • Michael Monarch- lead guitar
  • Goldy McJohn- organ, piano
  • Nick St. Nicholas- bass
  • Jerry Edmonton- drums, backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Don’t Cry – Gabriel Mekler
  2. Chicken Wolf – John Kay, Michael Monarch
  3. Lovely Meter – Gabriel Mekler
  4. Round and Down – Michael Monarch
  5. It’s Never Too Late – John Kay, Nick St. Nicholas
  6. Sleeping Dreaming – Nick St. Nicholas
  7. Jupiter’s Child – Jerry Edmonton, John Kay, Michael Monarch
  8. She’ll Be Better – Jerry Edmonton, Gabriel Mekler
  9. Cat Killer – John Goadsby
  10. Rock Me – John Kay
  11. God Fearing Man – Michael Monarch
  12. Mango Juice – Jerry Edmonton, John Goadsby, Michael Monarch
  13. Happy Birthday – Gabriel Mekler