Steppenwolf: Same

On January 29, 1968, “ABC Dunhill” label released the self-titled, debut Steppenwolf album. It was released in 1967, at “American Recording Co. Studio” in Studio City, California, and was produced by Gabriel Mekler.


  • John Kay– lead vocals, guitars, harmonica
  • Michael Monarch– guitars, backing vocals
  • Goldy McJohn– Hammond organ, piano, Wurlitzer electric piano
  • Rushton Moreve– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Jerry Edmonton– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Bill Cooper – engineer
  • Richard Podolor– engineer
  • Gary Burden– art direction, cover design
  • Tom Gundelfinger – photography
  • Henry Diltz– photography

Track listing:

  1. Sookie Sookie – Don Convay, Steve Cropper
  2. Everybody’s Next One – John Kay, Gabriel Mekler
  3. Berry Rides Again – John Kay
  4. Hootchie Kootchie Man – Willie Dixon
  5. Born to Be Wild – Mars Bonfire
  6. Your Wall’s Too High – John Kay
  7. Desperation – John Kay
  8. The Pusher – Hoyt Axton
  9. A Girl I Knew – John Kay, Morgan Cavett
  10. Take What You Need – John Kay, Gabriel Mekler
  11. The Ostrich – John Kay

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.