In August 1974.

In August 1974, “Mums” label released “Slow Flux”, the seventh Steppenwolf studio album. It was recorded in 1974, at “John Kay’s Studio” and was produced by John Kay, Goldy McJohn, Bobby Cochran, George Biondo, and Jerry Edmonton.


  • John Kay– vocals, guitar
  • Goldy McJohn– keyboards
  • Bobby Cochran– guitar
  • George Biondo– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Jerry Edmonton– drums
  • Charles Black, Don Ellis, Gil Rathel, John Rosenberg, Sam Falzone – horns
  • Skip Konte– Chamberlin
  • Ed Bannon – engineer
  • Arnie Acosta – mastering
  • Jerry Edmonton – art direction, design
  • Tom Gundelfinger – front cover photography
  • Ed Caraeff– back cover and sleeve photography

Track listing:

  1. Gang War Blues – Goldy McJohn, Jerry Edmonton, John Kay, Kim Fowley
  2. Children of the Night – John Kay
  3. Justice Don’t be Slow – John Kay, Joseph B. Richie
  4. Get Into the Wind – Bobby Cochran, Casey Van Beek
  5. Jeraboah – Jack Conrad
  6. Straight Shootin’ Woman – Jerry Edmonton
  7. Smokey Factory Blues – Albert Hammond, Mike Hazlewood
  8. Morning Blue – George Biondo
  9. A Fool’s Fantasy – Goldy McJohn
  10. Fishin; in the Dark – John Kay

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.