In October 1968.

In October 1968, “ABC Dunhill” label released “The Second”, the second  Steppenwolf studio album. It was recorded in 1968, at “American Recording Co”, and was produced by Gabriel Mekler.


  • John Kay– lead vocals, rhythm guitar, harmonica
  • Michael Monarch– lead guitar
  • Goldy McJohn– organ, piano
  • Rushton Moreve– bass
  • Jerry Edmonton– drums, vocals, lead and co-lead vocals
  • Bill Cooper, Richard Podolor– engineer
  • Gary Burden– cover design
  • Henry Diltz– photography

Track listing:

All tracks by John Kay, except where noted.

  1. Faster Than the Speed of Life – Mars Bonfire
  2. Tighten Up Your Wig
  3. None of Your Doing – John Kay, Gabriel Mekler
  4. Spiritual Fantasy
  5. Don’t Step on the Grass, Sam
  6. 28 – Mekler
  7. Magic Carpet Ride – John Kay, Rushton Moreve
  8. Disappointment Number – unknown
  9. Lost and Found by Trial and Error
  10. Hodge, Podge, Strained Through a Leslie
  11. Resurrection
  12. Reflections – JohnKay, Gabriel Mekler



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.