Tag Archives: Soul Asylum

On July 17, 2012.

On July 17, 2012, “429 Records” label released “Delayed Reaction”, the tenth Soul Asylum studio album. It was recorded 2010 – 2012, and was produced by Dave Pirner, Dan Murphy, Tommy Stinson, Michael Bland and John Fields.


  • Dave Pirner– vocals, guitar
  • Dan Murphy– guitar, vocals
  • Tommy Stinson– bass
  • Michael Bland– drums, percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Dave Pirner.

  1. Gravity
  2. Into the Light
  3. The Streets
  4. By the Way
  5. Pipe Dream
  6. Let’s All Kill Each Other
  7. Cruel Intentions
  8. The Juice
  9. Take Manhattan
  10. I Should’ve Stayed in Bed



On October 6, 1992.


On October 6, 1992, “Columbia” label released “Grave Dancers Union”, the sixth Soul Asylum studio album. It was recorded May 1992, at “The Powerstation” and “River Sound” in New York City; “Pachyderm Discs” and  “Cannon Falls” in Minnesota, and “Cherokee Studios” in  Hollywood, and was produced by Michael Beinhorn. The cover illustration is by Czech erotic art photographer Jan Saudek. In 1993, the album song “Runaway Trains” won “Grammy Award” for “Best Rock Song”.


  • Dave Pirner– guitar, arranger, vocals, horn arrangements
  • Dan Murphy– guitar, vocals
  • Karl Mueller– bass
  • Grant Young– drums
  • Sterling Campbell– drums, percussion
  • Booker T. Jones III– organ, Hammond organ
  • Kraig Johnson,Gary Louris – background vocals
  • Meridian String Quartet – strings
  • Sonny Kompanek – arranger, conductor
  • Michael Beinhorn– arranger, celeste, glockenspiel, horn arrangements
  • Chris Shaw – engineer
  • Eric Anderson, Bruce Ross – additional engineering
  • David Michael Dill, Dan Gellert, Bill Smith – assistant engineers
  • Andy Wallace– mixing
  • David Leonard– mixing
  • Steve Sisco – mixing assistant
  • Wally Traugott – mastering
  • Francesca Restrepo – art direction, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Dave Pirner.

  1. Somebody to Shove
  2. Black Gold
  3. Runaway Train
  4. Keep It Up
  5. Homesick
  6. Get on Out
  7. New World
  8. April Fool
  9. Without a Trace
  10. Growing into You
  11. 99%
  12. The Sun Maid


On May 12, 1998.

Candy from a stranger

On May 12, 1998, “Columbia” label released “Candy from a Stranger”, the eight Soul Asylum’s studio album. It was recorded 1997 – 1998, and was produced by Chris Kimsey.


  • Dave Pirner– vocals, guitar
  • Dan Murphy– guitar, vocals
  • Karl Mueller– bass
  • Sterling Campbell– drums & percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Dave Pirner except where noted.

  1. Creatures of Habit
  2. I Will Still Be Laughing
  3. Close
  4. See You Later
  5. No Time for Waiting
  6. Blood into Wine – Dan Murphy, Herman
  7. Lies of Hate – Dave Pirner, Sterling Campbell
  8. Draggin’ the Lake
  9. New York Blackout
  10. The Game
  11. Cradle Chain


On April 25, 1988.


On April 25, 1988, “A&M” label released “Hang Time”, the major-label debut album by Soul Asylum.  It was recorded in 1988, and was produced by Lenny Kaye and Ed Stasium.


  • Karl Mueller – bass
  • Dan Murphy – vocals, guitar
  • Dave Pirner – guitar, piano, saxophone, vocals
  • Grant Young – drums
  • Paul Hamingson – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Dave Pirner, except where noted.

  1. Down on Up to Me
  2. Little Too Clean
  3. Sometime to Return
  4. Cartoon – Dan Murphy
  5. Beggars and Choosers
  6. Endless Farewell
  7. Standing in the Doorway
  8. Marionette
  9. Ode
  10. Jack of All Trades
  11. Twiddly Dee
  12. Heavy Rotation


On January 18, 1986.

Made to be broken

On January 18, 1986, “A&M” label released “Made to Be Broken”, the second Soul Asylum studio album. “Made to Be Broken” was recorded in 1985, and was produced by Bob Mould. It was the first of three albums of Soul Asylum to be released in 1986.

Track listing:

All tracks by David Pirner, except where noted.

  1. Tied to the Tracks
  2. Ship of Fools
  3. Can’t Go Back” – Murphy
  4. Another World, Another Day
  5. Made to Be Broken
  6. Never Really Been
  7. Whoa!
  8. New Feelings
  9. Growing Pain
  10. Long Way Home
  11. Lone Rider
  12. Ain’t That Tough
  13. Don’t It (Make Your Troubles Seem Small)