Tag Archives: Cannon Falls

On August 9, 1993.

On August 9, 1993, “4AD” label released “Perfect Teeth”, the seventh and final Unrest studio album. It was recorded in March 1993, at “Pachyderm Studios” in Cannon Falls, Minnesota.


  • Bridget Cross – bass guitar, lead vocals, backing vocals, guitar
  • Phil Krauth – drums, piano, guitar, lead vocals
  • Mark Robinson – lead vocals, guitar
  • Brian Paulson– engineering, recording, mixing
  • Brent Sigmeth – assistant recording

Track listing:

All lyrics by Mark Robinson, except “Light Command” and “Stylized Ampersand” by Bridget Cross and “West Coast Love Affair” by Phil Krauth; all music Bridget Cross, Phil Krauth and Mark Robinson.

  1. Angel I’ll Walk You Home
  2. Cath Carroll
  3. So Sick
  4. Light Command
  5. Food & Drink Synthesizer
  6. Soon It Is Going to Rain
  7. Make Out Club
  8. Breather X.O.X.O.
  9. West Coast Love Affair
  10. Six Layer Cake
  11. Stylized Ampersand



On October 6, 1992.


On October 6, 1992, “Columbia” label released “Grave Dancers Union”, the sixth Soul Asylum studio album. It was recorded May 1992, at “The Powerstation” and “River Sound” in New York City; “Pachyderm Discs” and  “Cannon Falls” in Minnesota, and “Cherokee Studios” in  Hollywood, and was produced by Michael Beinhorn. The cover illustration is by Czech erotic art photographer Jan Saudek. In 1993, the album song “Runaway Trains” won “Grammy Award” for “Best Rock Song”.


  • Dave Pirner– guitar, arranger, vocals, horn arrangements
  • Dan Murphy– guitar, vocals
  • Karl Mueller– bass
  • Grant Young– drums
  • Sterling Campbell– drums, percussion
  • Booker T. Jones III– organ, Hammond organ
  • Kraig Johnson,Gary Louris – background vocals
  • Meridian String Quartet – strings
  • Sonny Kompanek – arranger, conductor
  • Michael Beinhorn– arranger, celeste, glockenspiel, horn arrangements
  • Chris Shaw – engineer
  • Eric Anderson, Bruce Ross – additional engineering
  • David Michael Dill, Dan Gellert, Bill Smith – assistant engineers
  • Andy Wallace– mixing
  • David Leonard– mixing
  • Steve Sisco – mixing assistant
  • Wally Traugott – mastering
  • Francesca Restrepo – art direction, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Dave Pirner.

  1. Somebody to Shove
  2. Black Gold
  3. Runaway Train
  4. Keep It Up
  5. Homesick
  6. Get on Out
  7. New World
  8. April Fool
  9. Without a Trace
  10. Growing into You
  11. 99%
  12. The Sun Maid


On September 21, 1993.


On September 21, 1993, “DGC Records” label released “In Utero”, the third and the final Nirvana studio album. It was recorded February 12–26, 1993, at “Pachyderm Studio” in Cannon Falls, Minnesota, and was produced by Steve Albini and Scott Litt. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “In Utero” at number 435 on its list of the “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. The album was certified Platinum in Argentina by “CAPIF”; 2 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”; 6 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in France by “SNEP”; Platinum in Japan by “RIAJ”; 3 x Platinum in New Zealand by “RMNZ”; Platinum in Spain by “PROMUSICAE”; Platinum in UK by “BPI”; and 5 x Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Kurt Cobain- guitar, lead vocals, art direction, design, photography
  • Krist Novoselic- bass guitar
  • Dave Grohl- drums, backing vocals
  • Steve Albini – engineer
  • Robert Fisher – art direction, design, photography
  • Alex Grey– illustrations
  • Adam Kasper – second engineer
  • Michael Lavine– photography
  • Scott Litt– mixing
  • Bob Ludwig– audio mastering
  • Karen Mason – photography
  • Charles Peterson– photography
  • Kera Schaley – cello
  • Neil Wallace – photography
  • Bob Weston– technician

Track listing:

  1. Serve the Servants –Kurt Cobain
  2. Scentless Apprentice – Kurt Cobain, Dave Grohl, Krist Novoselic
  3. Heart-Shaped Box – Kurt Cobain
  4. Rape Me – Kurt Cobain
  5. Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle – Kurt Cobain
  6. Dumb – Kurt Cobain
  7. Very Ape – Kurt Cobain
  8. Milk It – Kurt Cobain
  9. Pennyroyal Tea – Kurt Cobain
  10. Radio Friendly Unit Shifter – Kurt Cobain
  11. tourette’s – Kurt Cobain
  12. All Apologies – Kurt Cobain


On May 4, 1993.


On May 4, 1993, “Island” label released “Rid of Me”the second PJ Harvey studio album. It was recorded December 1992 at “Pachyderm Studio” in Cannon Falls, Minnesota, and was produced by Steve Albini. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 406 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • PJ Harvey– vocals, guitar, organ, cello, violin, producer (6)
  • Steve Vaughan – bass
  • Rob Ellis– drums, percussion, backing vocals, arrangement
  • Steve Albini– engineering, mixing
  • Head – producer, engineer
  • John Loder– mastering
  • Maria Mochnacz – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Polly Jean Harvey, except where noted.

  1. Rid of Me
  2. Missed
  3. Legs
  4. Rub ’til It Bleeds
  5. Hook
  6. Man-Size Sextet
  7. Highway 61 Revisited – Bob Dylan
  8. 50ft Queenie
  9. Yuri-G
  10. Man-Size
  11. Dry
  12. Me-Jane
  13. Snake
  14. Ecstasy


On March 20, 2007.


On March 20, 2007, “Fat Possum” label released “Armchair Apocrypha”, the fourth Andrew Bird studio album. It was recorded in 2006, at “Pachyderm Studios” in Cannon Falls, “Crazy Beast Studio” in Northeast Minneapolis, “Wall2Wall Recording” in Chicago, “Third Ear Recording” in Minneapolis, “Electrical Audio” in Chicago, “SAE Mastering” in Phoenix and “Pachyderm Studios”.


  • Andrew Bird – violin, vocals, whistling, guitar, glockenspiel
  • Haley Bonar– vocals
  • Jon Davis– bass clarinet
  • Martin Dosh– drums, electric piano (Rhodes, Wurlitzer), other sounds
  • Ben Durrant– guitar
  • Chris Morrissey– bass
  • Kevin O’Donnell– drums
  • Jeremy Ylvisaker– guitar
  • David Boucher – mixing
  • Ben Durrant – Co-producer; mixing, recording, vocals and guitars
  • Dan Dietrich – Recording
  • Martin Dosh – recording
  • Tom Herbers – Mixing, recording
  • Gregg Norman – Recording
  • Roger Seibel – Mastering
  • Brent Sigmeth – Mixing
  • Quemadura– Artwork and design
  • Lynne Roberts-Goodwin – Photography
  • Cameron Wittig – Photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Andrew Bird, except where noted.

  1. Fiery Crash
  2. Imitosis
  3. Plasticities
  4. Heretics
  5. Armchairs
  6. Darkmatter
  7. Simple X – Andrew Bird and Martin Dosh
  8. The Supine
  9. Cataracts
  10. Scythian Empires
  11. Spare-Ohs
  12. Yawny at the Apocalypse