Tag Archives: Sidney Clare

On August 12, 1957.

On August 12, 1957, “Decca” label released “Rockin’ the Oldies”, the fifth Bill Haley and His Comets album. It was recorded March – April, 1957, in New York, and was produced by Milt Gabler.


  • Bill Haley– vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Franny Beecher– lead guitar
  • Billy Williamson– steel guitar
  • Johnny Grande– piano
  • Al Rex– double bass
  • Ralph Jones– drums
  • Frankie Scott- tenor saxophone

Track listing:

  1. The Dipsy Doodle – Larry Clinton
  2. You Can’t Stop Me from Dreaming – Cliff Friend, Dave Franklin
  3. Apple Blossom Time- Albert Von Tilzer, Neville Fleeson
  4. Moon Over Miami- Joe Burke, Edgar Leslie
  5. Is It True What They Say About Dixie?
  6. Carolina in the Morning- Walter Donaldson, Gus Kahn
  7. Miss You- Charles Tobias, Henry Tobias, Harry Tobias
  8. Please Don’t Talk About Me When I’m Gone- Sam H. Stept, Sidney Clare
  9. Ain’t Misbehavin’- Harry Brooks, Fats Waller, Andy Razaf
  10. One Sweet Letter from You – Harry Warren, Lew Brown, Sidney Clare
  11. I’m Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter- Joe Young, Fred E. Ahlert
  12. Somebody Else is Taking My Place – Dick Howard, Bob Ellsworth, Russ Morgan


On March 20, 2000.


On March 20, 2000, “Reprise” label released “Both Sides Now”, the seventeenth Joni Mitchell studio album. It was recorded in 1999, at “Air Studios” in London, and was produced by Joni Mitchell and Larry Klein. In 2001, the album won two “Grammy Awards”, for “Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album” and “Best Instrumental Arrangement Accompanying Vocalist(s)” for the song “Both Sides, Now”.


  • Joni Mitchell— vocals, cover art
  • Mark Isham— trumpet, solo
  • John Anderson — oboe
  • Julie Andrews — bassoon
  • Nick Bucknall — clarinet
  • Stan Sulzmann— clarinet, flute
  • Philip Todd — clarinet, flute and alto flute
  • Jamie Talbot — clarinet, flute, alto flute and alto saxophone
  • Andrew Findon — flute
  • Dave Arch — piano
  • Vaughan Armon — violin
  • Kate Wilkinson — viola
  • Dave Daniels — cello
  • Philip Eastop — horn
  • John Barclay — trumpet
  • Pete Beachill — trombone
  • Wayne Shorter— soprano and tenor saxophone
  • Owen Slade — tuba
  • Richard Henry — bass trombone
  • Peter Erskine— drums
  • Chris Laurence— double bass
  • Frank Ricotti— percussion
  • Herbie Hancock— piano
  • Skaila Kanga— harp

Track listing:

  1. You’re My Thrill – Sidney Clare and Jay Gorney
  2. At Last – Mack Gordon and Harry Warren
  3. Comes Love – Lew Brown, Sam H. Stept and Charles Tobias
  4. You’ve Changed – Bill Carey and Carl Fisher
  5. Answer My Love – Fred Rauch, Carl Sigman and Gerhard Winkler
  6. A Case of You – Joni Mitchell
  7. Don’t Go Strangers – Redd Evans, Arthur Kent and David Mann
  8. Sometimes I’m Happy – Irving Caesar, Clifford Grey and Vincent Youmans
  9. Don’t Worry ‘Bout Me – Rube Bloom and Ted Koehler
  10. Stormy Weather – Harold Arlen and Ted Koehler
  11. I Wish I Were in Love Again – Lorenz Hart and Richard Rodgers
  12. Both Sides Now – Joni Mitchell