Tag Archives: Roll Over Beethoven

In July 1959.

In July 1959, “Chess” label released “Chuck Berry Is on Top”, the third Chuck Berry studio album. It was recorded 1955–1959, in Chicago, Illinois, and was produced by Leonard Chess and Phil Chess.


  • Chuck Berry– vocals, guitars
  • Bo Diddley– electric guitar
  • Johnnie Johnson, Lafayette Leake– piano
  • Willie Dixon– double bass
  • George Smith – bass
  • Fred Below, Ebbie Hardy, Jaspar Thomas – drums
  • Jerome Green – maracas
  • The Moonglows– backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Chuck Berry.

  1. Almost Grown
  2. Carol
  3. Maybellene
  4. Sweet Little Rock & Roller
  5. Anthony Boy
  6. Johnny B. Goode
  7. Little Queenie
  8. Jo Jo Gunne
  9. Roll Over Beethoven
  10. Around and Around
  11. Hey Pedro
  12. Blues for Hawaiians

On April 5, 2000.

On April 5, 2000, “Mercury” label released “Famous in the Last Century”, the twenty-fourth Status Quo studio album. It was recorded in 1999 – 2000, at “Astria Studios” and “ARSIS Studios”, and was produced by Mike Paxman.


  • Francis Rossi– vocals, lead guitar
  • Rick Parfitt– vocals, guitar
  • John Edwards- bass
  • Andy Bown- keyboards
  • Jeff Rich- drums

Track listing:

  1. Famous in the Last Century – Andy Bown
  2. Old Time Rock and Roll – George Jackson, Thomas E. Jones III
  3. Way Down – Martine
  4. Rave On! – Petty, William “Billy” Tilghman, Sunny West
  5. Roll Over Beethoven – Chuck Berry
  6. When I’m Dead and Gone – Benny Gallagher, Graham Lyle
  7. Memphis, Tennessee – Chuck Berry
  8. Sweet Home Chicago – Johnson
  9. Crawling from the Wreckage – Parker
  10. Good Golly Miss Molly – Blackwell, Marascalco
  11. Claudette – Roy Orbison
  12. Rock’n Me – Miller
  13. Hound Dog – Leiber, Stoller
  14. Runaround Sue – DiMucci, Maresca
  15. Once Bitten Twice Shy – Ian Hunter
  16. Mony Mony – Bloom, Bo Gentry, James, Ritchie Cordell
  17. Famous in the Last Century – AndyBown

In January 1973.

In January 1973, “Harvest” label released “ELO 2”, the second  Electric Light Orchestra studio album. It was recorded May – October 1972, at “Air Studios” in London, and was produced by Jeff Lynne.


  • Jeff Lynne– lead vocals, guitars, Moog synthesizer
  • Bev Bevan– drums, percussion
  • Richard Tandy– piano, harmonium, Moog synthesizer, guitar, backing vocals
  • Mike de Albuquerque– bass, backing vocals
  • Mike Edwards, Colin Walker– cello
  • Wilf Gibson– violin
  • Bill Hunt– French horn
  • Roy Wood– bass, cello
  • Marc Bolan– guitar
  • Carl Wayne– lead vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Jeff Lynne, except where noted.

  1. In Old England Town (Boogie No. 2)
  2. Momma
  3. Roll Over Beethoven – Chuck Berry
  4. From the Sun to the World (Boogie No. 1)
  5. Kulama

In November 1971.

In November 1971, “Windfall” label released “Flowers of Evil”, the third Mountain album. The album consists of studio recordings and live recordings. Studio selections were recorded September 1971 at the “Record Plant” in  New York City, and the live selections were recorded on June 27, 1971 at the “Fillmore East” in New York City, and were produced by Leslie West, Felix Pappalardi, Steve Knight and Corky Laing.


  • Leslie West– guitar, vocals
  • Felix Pappalardi– bass, vocals
  • Steve Knight– organ
  • Corky Laing– drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Flowers of Evil – Leslie West, Felix Pappalardi, David Rea
  2. King’s Chorale – Felix Pappalardi
  3. One Last Cold Kiss – Felix Pappalardi, Collins
  4. Crossroader – Felix Pappalardi, Collins
  5. Pride and Passion – Felix Pappalardi, Collins
  6. Dream Sequence: Guitar Solo (Leslie West) / Roll Over Beethoven- Chuck Berry) / Dreams of Milk and Honey (Leslie West, Felix Pappalardi, John Ventura, Norman Landsberg) / Variations (Leslie West, Felix Pappalardi, Corky Laing, Steve Knight) / Swan Theme (Felix Pappalardi, Collins)
  7. Mississippi Queen – Leslie West, Felix Pappalardi, Corky Laing, David Rea

On November 22, 1963.


On November 22, 1963, “Parlaphone” label released “With the Beatles”, the second Beatles studio album. It was recorded July – October 1963, at “EMI Studios” in London, and was produced by George Martin. The album cover photograph was by fashion photographer Robert Freeman “With the Beatles” was the first Beatles album released in North America. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 420 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • George Harrison– lead, harmony and backing vocals; lead and acoustic guitars; handclaps
  • John Lennon– lead, harmony and backing vocals; rhythm and acoustic guitars; harmonica and handclaps; nylon-string acoustic guitar; Hammond organ, tambourine
  • Paul McCartney– lead, harmony and backing vocals; bass guitar and handclaps; piano, claves
  • Ringo Starr– drums, tambourine, maracas, handclaps; lead vocals, bongo
  • Robert Freeman– cover photograph
  • George Martin– arrangement, mixing; piano
  • Norman Smith– engineering, mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by Lennon–McCartney, except where noted.

  1. It Won’t Be Long
  2. All I’ve Got to Do
  3. All My Loving
  4. Don’t Bother Me – George Harrison
  5. Little Child
  6. Till There Was You – Meredith Willson
  7. Please Mister Postman – Georgia Dobbins, William Garrett, Freddie Gorman, Brian Holland, Robert Bateman
  8. Roll Over Beethoven – Chuck Berry
  9. Hold Me Tight
  10. You Really Got a Hold on Me – Smokey Robinson
  11. I Wanna Be Your Man
  12. Devil in Her Heart- Richard Drapkin
  13. Not a Second Time
  14. Money (That’s What I Want) – Janie Bradford, Berry Gordy