Tag Archives: Steve Knight

In January 1971.

In January 1971, “Windfall” label released “Nantucket Sleighride”, the second Mountain studio album. It was recorded in 1970, at “The Record Plant” in New York City, and was produced by Felix Pappalardi.  


  • Leslie West – vocals, guitar
  • Steve Knight – keyboards
  • Felix Pappalardi – vocals, bass
  • Corky Laing – drums, percussion
  • Bob d’Orleans – engineer
  • Tom Cachetta – assistant engineer
  • Dave Ragno – assistant engineer
  • Beverly Weinstein – art direction
  • Gail Collins – visual director, design, painting, photography, calligraphy
  • Mick Brigden – calligraphy
  • Bud Prager – executive producer

Track listing:

  1. Don’t Look Around – Leslie West, Sue Palmer,, Felix Pappalardi, Gail Collins
  2. Taunta (Sammy’s Tune) – Felix Pappalardi
  3. Nantucket Sleighride (to Owen Coffin) – Felix Pappalardi, Gail Collins
  4. You Can’t Get Away – Leslie West, Gail Collins, Corky Laing
  5. Tired Angels (to J.M.H.) – Felix Pappalardi, Gail Colliins
  6. The Animal Trainer and the Toad – Leslie West, Sue Palmer
  7. My Lady – Corky Laing, Felix Pappalardi, Gail Collins
  8. Travellin’ in the Dark (to E.M.P.) – Felix Pappalardi, Gail Collins
  9. The Great Train Robbery – Leslie West, Corky Laing, Felix Pappalardi, Gail Collins

In November 1971.

In November 1971, “Windfall” label released “Flowers of Evil”, the third Mountain album. The album consists of studio recordings and live recordings. Studio selections were recorded September 1971 at the “Record Plant” in  New York City, and the live selections were recorded on June 27, 1971 at the “Fillmore East” in New York City, and were produced by Leslie West, Felix Pappalardi, Steve Knight and Corky Laing.


  • Leslie West– guitar, vocals
  • Felix Pappalardi– bass, vocals
  • Steve Knight– organ
  • Corky Laing– drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Flowers of Evil – Leslie West, Felix Pappalardi, David Rea
  2. King’s Chorale – Felix Pappalardi
  3. One Last Cold Kiss – Felix Pappalardi, Collins
  4. Crossroader – Felix Pappalardi, Collins
  5. Pride and Passion – Felix Pappalardi, Collins
  6. Dream Sequence: Guitar Solo (Leslie West) / Roll Over Beethoven- Chuck Berry) / Dreams of Milk and Honey (Leslie West, Felix Pappalardi, John Ventura, Norman Landsberg) / Variations (Leslie West, Felix Pappalardi, Corky Laing, Steve Knight) / Swan Theme (Felix Pappalardi, Collins)
  7. Mississippi Queen – Leslie West, Felix Pappalardi, Corky Laing, David Rea

On March 7, 1970.

Mountain - Climbing

On March 7, 1970, “Windfall” label released “Climbing!”, the first Mountain studio album. It was recorded 1969 -1970, at “Record Plant Studios” in New York, and was produced by Felix Pappalardi.


  • Leslie West– guitars, lead and co-lead vocals
  • Felix Pappalardi– bass, piano, rhythm guitar, lead and co-lead vocals
  • Corky Laing– drums, percussion
  • Steve Knight– organ, mellotron, handbells
  • Beverly Weinstein – art direction
  • Gail Collins– cover artwork, photography

Track listing:

  1. Mississippi Queen – Corky Laing, Felix Pappalardi, David Rea, Leslie West
  2. Theme for an Imaginary Western- Pete Brown, Jack Bruce
  3. Never in My Life – Gail Collins, Corky Laing, Felix Pappalardi, Leslie West
  4. Silver Paper – Gail Collins, George Gardos, Steve Knight, Corky Laing, Felix Pappalardi, Leslie West
  5. For Yasgur’s Farm – Gail Collins, George Gardos, Corky Laing, Felix Pappalardi, David Rea, Gary Ship
  6. To My Friend – Leslie West
  7. The Laird – Gail Collins, Felix Pappalardi
  8. Sittin’ on a Rainbow – Gail Collins, Corky Laing, Leslie West
  9. Boys in the Band – Gail Collins, Felix Pappalardi