In July 1959.

In July 1959, “Chess” label released “Chuck Berry Is on Top”, the third Chuck Berry studio album. It was recorded 1955–1959, in Chicago, Illinois, and was produced by Leonard Chess and Phil Chess.


  • Chuck Berry– vocals, guitars
  • Bo Diddley– electric guitar
  • Johnnie Johnson, Lafayette Leake– piano
  • Willie Dixon– double bass
  • George Smith – bass
  • Fred Below, Ebbie Hardy, Jaspar Thomas – drums
  • Jerome Green – maracas
  • The Moonglows– backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Chuck Berry.

  1. Almost Grown
  2. Carol
  3. Maybellene
  4. Sweet Little Rock & Roller
  5. Anthony Boy
  6. Johnny B. Goode
  7. Little Queenie
  8. Jo Jo Gunne
  9. Roll Over Beethoven
  10. Around and Around
  11. Hey Pedro
  12. Blues for Hawaiians

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.