On October 17, 1995.

On October 17, 1995, “Verve” label released “High Life”, the twentieth Wayne Shorter album. It was recorded in 1995, at Bill Schnee’s studio in North Hollywood,  and was produced by Marcus Miller. In 1997, “High Life” won the “Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Jazz Album”. 


  • Wayne Shorter – tenor, soprano, alto and baritone saxophones
  • Rachel Z – piano, synthesizers, sound design, sequencing
  • David Gilmore – electric guitar
  • Marcus Miller – bass guitar, bass clarinet, rhythm programming
  • Will Calhoun – drums
  • Lenny Castro – percussion
  • Airto Moreira – percussion
  • Terri Lyne Carrington – drums
  • Munyungo Jackson – percussion
  • Kevin Ricard – percussion
  • David Ward – additional sound design

Track listing:

All tracks by Wayne Shorter.

  1. Children of the Night
  2. At the Fair
  3. Maya
  4. On the Milky Way Express
  5. Pandora Awakened
  6. Virgo Rising
  7. High Life
  8. Midnight in Carlotta’s Hair
  9. Black Swan (in memory of Susan Portlynn Romeo)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.