Tag Archives: John Thornton

In August 1977.

In August 1977, “Barn Records” label released “Before We Were So Rudely Interrupted”, the eleventh Animals album. It was a reunion album from The Animals, billed The Original Animals.It was recorded in 1977, at “Rolling Stones Mobile Studio” in Goulds Farm, and was produced by Chas Chandler.


  • Eric Burdon– vocals
  • Alan Price– keyboards
  • Hilton Valentine– guitar
  • Chas Chandler– bass
  • Alan O’Duffy – engineer
  • Paul Hardiman – mix engineer
  • Jo Mirowski – design
  • Terry O’Neill- photography

Track listing:

  1. Brother Bill (The Last Clean Shirt) – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller, Clyde Otis
  2. It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue – Bob Dylan
  3. Fire on the Sun – Shaky Jake aka James D. Harris
  4. As the Crow Flies – Jimmy Reed
  5. Please Send Me Someone to Love – Percy Mayfield
  6. Many Rivers to Cross – Jimmy Cliff
  7. Just a Little Bit – John Thornton, Ralph Bass, Earl Washington, Piney Brown
  8. Riverside County – Eric Burdon, Alan Price, Hilton Valentine, Chas Chandler, John Steel
  9. Lonely Avenue – Doc Pomus
  10. The Fool – Lee Hazlewood

In February 1976.

In February 1976, “Harvest” label released “Sunburst Finish”, the third Be-Bop Deluxe studio album. It was recorded in 1975, and was produced by John Leckie and Bill Nelson. The cover art concept was by Mike Doud, the cover photograph was by John Thornton.


  • Bill Nelson- lead vocals, electric and 12-string guitars
  • Andy Clark- keyboards, synthesizer
  • Charlie Tumahai- bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Simon Fox- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Nelson

  1. Fair Exchange
  2. Heavenly Homes
  3. Ships in the Night
  4. Crying to the Sky
  5. Sleep That Burns
  6. Beauty Secrets
  7. Life in the Air Age
  8. Like an Old Blues
  9. Crystal Gazing
  10. Blazing Apostles