Tag Archives: Robert Lockart

In November 1972.

In November 1972, “ABC” label released “Can’t Buy a Thrill”, the debut Steely Dan studio album. It was recorded in 1972 at “The Village Recorder” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Gary Katz. The album cover features a photomontage by Robert Lockart.


  • David Palmer – lead and backing vocals
  • Donald Fagen– acoustic and electric pianos, plastic (YC-30) organ, lead and backing vocals
  • Jeff “Skunk” Baxter– guitar, pedal steel guitar, spoken word
  • Denny Dias– guitar, electric sitar
  • Walter Becker – electric bass, dual lead and backing vocals
  • Jim Hodder– drums, percussion, lead vocal, backing vocals
  • Elliott Randall– lead guitar
  • Jerome Richardson– tenor saxophone
  • Snooky Young– flugelhorn
  • Victor Feldman– percussion
  • Venetta Fields, Clydie King, Sherlie Matthews– backing vocals
  • Engineer: Roger Nichols
  • Assistant engineer: Tim Weston

Track listing:

All tracks by Donald Fagen and Walter Becker.

  1. Do It Again
  2. Dirty Work
  3. Kings
  4. Midnite Cruiser
  5. Only a Fool Would Say That
  6. Reelin’ in the Years
  7. Fire in the Hole
  8. Brooklyn (Owes the Charmer Under Me)
  9. Change of the Guard
  10. Turn That Heartbeat Over Again

In March 1975.

In March 1975, “Warner Bros” label released “I’ll Play for You” the seventh Seals & Crofts studio album. It was recorded 1974-1975, and was produced by Louie Shelton.


  • Jim Seals– vocals, guitar, banjo
  • Dash Crofts– vocals, acoustic and electric mandolins, mandola
  • Louie Shelton– guitar, banjo
  • Ovid Stevens – slide guitar
  • Jack Lenz – keyboards, flute
  • David Paich– keyboards
  • Wilton Felder– bass
  • Mike Porcaro– bass
  • Ed Greene– drums
  • Jim Varley – drums
  • Jeff Porcaro– drums
  • Antoine Dearborn – percussion
  • Gene Capriano, Bob Crosby, Jim Horn, Steve Leeds, and Henry Sigismonti – reeds
  • Larry Ford, Paul Hubinon, Ron King, and Bobby Shew– trumpet
  • Dick “Slyde” Hyde, John Leys, and Lew McCreary – trombone
  • Joe Bogan and Tom Knox – engineers
  • Marcus Joseph – 2nd engineer
  • Ivan Nagy – photography
  • Robert Lockart – art direction and design

Track listing:

All tracks by James Seals and Dash Crofts, except where noted.

  1. I’ll Play for You
  2. Golden Rainbow – James Seals, Dash Crofts, Roger Johnson, Bobby Lichtig, Jim Varley
  3. Castles in the Sand
  4. Blue Bonnet Nation
  5. Ugly City
  6. Wayland the Rabbit
  7. Freaks Fret
  8. Truth Is But a Woman
  9. Fire and Vengeance