Tag Archives: King of the World

In July 1973.

In July 1973, “ABC” label released “Countdown to Ecstasy”, the second Steely Dan studio album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Caribou Ranch” in Nederland, “The Village Recorder” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Gary Katz. The cover painting was by Dorothy White.


  • Donald Fagen– acoustic and electric pianos, synthesizer, lead vocals
  • Walter Becker– electric bass, harmonica, background vocals
  • Denny Dias– electric guitar, mixing
  • Jeff “Skunk” Baxter– electric and pedal steel guitars
  • Jim Hodder– drums, percussion, background vocals
  • Ray Brown– string bass
  • Ben Benay– acoustic guitar
  • Rick Derringer– slide guitar
  • Victor Feldman– vibraphone, marimba, percussion
  • Ernie Watts, Johnny Rotella, Lanny Morgan, Bill Perkins– saxophones
  • Sherlie Matthews, Myrna Matthews, Patricia Hall, David Palmer, James Rolleston, Michael Fennelly– background vocals
  • Engineer: Roger Nichols
  • Assistant engineer: Miss Natalie
  • Album design: Dotty of Hollywood
  • Photography: Ed Caraeff

Track listing:

All tracks by Walter Becker and Donald Fagen.

  1. Bodhisattva
  2. Razor Boy
  3. The Boston Rag
  4. Your Gold Teeth
  5. Show Biz Kids
  6. My Old School
  7. Pearl of the Quarter
  8. King of the World

In June 1968.

In June 1968, “Blue Horizon” label released “40 Blue Fingers, Freshly Packed and Ready to Serve”, the debut Chicken Shack studio album. It was recorded February 1968, at “CBS Studios” in London, and was produced by Mike Vernon.


  • Stan Webb– guitar, vocals
  • Christine Perfect– organ, vocals, piano
  • Andy Silvester– bass
  • Dave Bidwell – drums
  • Alan Ellis – trumpet
  • Dick Heckstall-Smith– tenor saxophone
  • Johnny Almond– alto saxophone
  • Engineer – Mike Ross
  • Photography, design – Terence Ibbott

Track listing:

  1. The Letter – Jules Taub, B. B. King
  2. Lonesome Whistle Blues – Rudolph Toombs
  3. When the Train Comes Back – Christine Perfect
  4. San-Ho-Zay – Freddie King, Sonny Thompson
  5. King of the World – John Lee Hooker
  6. See See Baby – Freddie King, Sonny Thompson
  7. First Time I Met the Blues – Eurreal (Little Brother Montgomery) Montgomery
  8. Webbed Feet – Stan Webb
  9. You Ain’t No Good – Christine Perfect
  10. What You Did Last Night – Stan Webb

On April 1, 2016.

On April 1, 2016, “Crush Music” label released the tenth Weezer studio album, the fourth self-titled album, and also known as “The White Album”.  It was recorded in 2015, and was produced by Jake Sinclair.


  • Rivers Cuomo— lead vocals, lead guitar, piano, keyboards
  • Brian Bell— rhythm guitar, backing vocals, keyboards
  • Scott Shriner— bass, backing vocals, piano
  • Patrick Wilson— drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Christopher Wray — synthesizers
  • Ryan Spraker — additional production, piano
  • Scott Chesak — additional production, piano
  • Alex Goose — additional production, organ
  • Jonny Coffer — additional production, piano
  • Nadya Tolokonnikova— guest vocals
  • Michael Fitzpatrick— guest vocals
  • Tanner Sparks– engineer
  • Suzy Shinn – engineer

Track listing:

  1. California Kids – Rivers Cuomo, Dan Wilson
  2. Wind in Our Sail – Rivers Cuomo, Scott Chesak, Ryan Spraker
  3. Thank God for Girls – Rivers Cuomo, Alex Goose, Michael Balzer, Alex Balzer, Bill Petti
  4. (Girl We Got A) Good Thing – Rivers Cuomo
  5. Do You Wanna Get High – Rivers Cuomo
  6. King of the World – Rivers Cuomo, Jarrad Kritzstein
  7. Summer Elaine and Drunk Don – Rivers Cuomo
  8. A. Girlz – Rivers Cuomo, Brian Bell, Luther Russell
  9. Jacked Up – Rivers Cuomo, Jonathan Coffer, Hugh Pescod
  10. Endless Bummer – Rivers Cuomo, Brian Bell, Luther Russell