Tag Archives: Irwin Levine

In August 1970.

In August 1970, “Columbia” label released “Easy Does It”, the third Al Kooper album. It was recorded in 1969, and was produced by Al Kooper.


  • Al Kooper – piano, organ, guitars, ondioline, sitar, vibraphone, prepared guitar, electronic effects, vocals
  • Stu Woods – electric bass, backing vocal
  • Rick Marotta– drums, backing vocal
  • David Bromberg– pedal steel, guitar
  • Tom Cosgrove, Louie Shelton, Stu Scharf, Joe Beck, Tommy Tedesco, Keith Allison, Freddie Weller, Wayne Moss, Charlie Daniels– guitar
  • Lyle Ritz, John Miller, Joe Osborn, Charlie McCoy– electric bass
  • Earl Palmer, Joe Corero, Jr, Ken Buttrey, Al Rogers – drums
  • Larry Knechtel– piano
  • Fred Lipisus – tenor saxophone
  • Peter Ivers– harmonica
  • George Devens – percussion
  • Milt Holland– tabla
  • Pete Drake– pedal steel
  • The Blossoms– backing vocal
  • Bobby Colomby– congas
  • Charlie Calello– string and horn arrangements
  • Jackson Marlie – vocals
  • Jimmie Haskell– arrangements and conductor
  • Don Puluse, Neil Wilburn, Stan Tonkel, Sy Mitchell, Tim Geelan – engineers
  • Mike Ruschack – mastering engineer
  • Stan Weiss – remix engineer

Track listing:

  1. Brand New Day – Al Kooper
  2. Piano Solo Introduction to I Got a Woman
  3. I Got a Woman – Ray Charles, Renald Richard
  4. Country Road – James Taylor
  5. I Bought You the Shoes (You’re Walking Away In) – Bob Brass, Irwin Levine, Kooper
  6. Introduction
  7. Easy Does It – Al Kooper
  8. Buckskin Boy – Al Kooper, Charlie Calello
  9. Love Theme from The Landlord – Al Kooper
  10. Sad, Sad Sunshine – Al Kooper
  11. Let the Duchess No – John Gregory, Jim Roberts
  12. She Gets Me Where I Live – Al Kooper, Charlie Calello
  13. A Rose and a Baby Ruth – D. Loudermilk
  14. Baby, Please Don’t Go – Big Joe Williams
  15. God Sheds His Grace on Thee – Al Kooper, Charlie Calello

In July 1974.

In July 1974, “Reprise” label released “Some Nice Things I’ve Missed”, the 54th Frank Sinatra studio album. It was recorded December 1973 – May 1974, in Hollywood, and was produced by Don Costa, Jimmy Bowen and Sonny Burke.


  • Frank Sinatra– vocals
  • Don Costa, Gordon Jenkins– arranger

Track listing:

  1. You Turned My World Around – Bert Kaempfert, Herbert Rehbein, Kim Carnes, Dave Ellingson
  2. Sweet Caroline – Neil Diamond
  3. The Summer Knows – Alan and Marilyn Bergman, Michel Legrand
  4. I’m Gonna Make It All the Way – Floyd Huddleston
  5. Tie a Yellow Ribbon ‘Round the Ole Oak Tree – Russell Brown, Irwin Levine
  6. Satisfy Me One More Time – Floyd Huddleston
  7. If – David Gates
  8. You Are the Sunshine of My Life – Stevie Wonder
  9. What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life? – Alan and Marilyn Bergman,Michel Legrand
  10. Bad, Bad Leroy Brown – Jim Croce

In June 1971.

In June 1971, “Columbia” label released “New York City (You’re a Woman)”, the fourth Al Kooper album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by Al Kooper.


  • Al Kooper – piano, organ, guitars, mellotron, harmonium, vocals
  • Paul Humphries– drums
  • Bobbye Hall Porter– percussion
  • Lou Shelton– guitar
  • Terry Kath– guitar solo
  • Carol Kaye, Herbie Flowers– electric bass
  • Bobby West – acoustic andelectric bass
  • Roger Pope – drums
  • Sneaky Pete Kleinow– pedal steel
  • Caleb Quaye– guitar
  • Rita Coolidge, Venetta Fields, Clydie King, Donna Weiss, Julia Tillman Waters, Edna Wright, Maxine Willard Waters, Lorna Willard, Edna Woods, Claudia Lennear, Dorothy Morrison, Robbie Montgomery, Jessie Smith, Robert John, Michael Gately and Jay Siegel – backing vocals
  • Doug Pomeroy, Frank Laico, Ken Scott, Mark Friedman, Sy Mitchell – engineers
  • Richard Avedon– cover photography
  • John Berg – design

Track listing:

  1. New York City (You’re a Woman) – Al Kooper
  2. John the Baptist (Holy John) – Al Kooper, Phyllis Major
  3. Can You Hear It Now (500 Miles) – traditional, arr. by Al Kooper
  4. The Ballad of the Hard Rock Kid – Al Kooper
  5. Going Quietly Mad – Al Kooper
  6. Medley
  • Oo Wee Baby, I Love You – Richard Parker
  • Love Is A Man’s Best Friend – Irwin Levine, Kooper
  1. Back on My Feet – Al Kooper
  2. Come Down in Time – Bernie Taupin, Elton John
  3. Dearest Darling – Bo Diddley
  4. Nightmare #5 – Al Kooper
  5. The Warning (Someone’s on the Cross Again) – Al Kooper, Phyllis Major

In January 1973.


In January 1973, “Columbia” label released “Naked Songs”, the sixth and final Al Kooper album. It was recorded in 1972, at “New York City’s Record Plant” in New York City and at “Studio One” in Doraville, Georgia, and was produced by Al Kooper.


  • Al Kooper: piano,  organ,  guitars,  ARP synthesizer,  harpsichord,  electric bass
  • John Paul Fetta: electric bass
  • Junior Hanley:drums
  • Charlie Brown: guitar
  • Paul Goddard: bass
  • Barry Bailey: guitar
  • R. Cobb: guitar
  • Robert Nix: drums
  • Richard Greene:fiddle
  • Dean Daughtry: piano
  • Stuart Scharf: guitar
  • Maruga Booker:percussion
  • Linda November, Maeretha Stewart,Tasha Thomas, Eileen Gilbert, Patti Austin, Albertine Robinson, Michael Gately, Robert John – background vocals
  • Jimmy Wisner: string arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Al Kooper; except where noted.

  1. (Be Yourself) Be Real
  2. As the Years Go Passing By – Don Robey
  3. Jolie
  4. Blind Baby
  5. Been and Gone – Annette Peacock
  6. Sam Stone – John Prine
  7. Peacock Lady
  8. Touch the Hem of His Garment – Sam Cooke
  9. Where Were You When I Needed You – Irwin Levine, Al Kooper
  10. Unrequited


On February 21, 1968.

Child Is

On February 21, 1968, “Columbia” label released “Child Is Father to the Man”, the debut Blood, Sweat & Tears album. “Child Is Father to the Man” was recorded in November and December 1967, and was produced by John Simon.In 2003, the album was ranked number 264 on “Rolling Stone” magazine’s list of the “500 greatest albums of all time”.


  • Randy Brecker– trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Bobby Colomby– drums, percussion, vocals
  • Jim Fielder– bass guitar, fretless bass guitar
  • Dick Halligan– trombone
  • Steve Katz– guitar, lute, vocals
  • Al Kooper– organ, piano, ondioline, vocals
  • Fred Lipsius– piano, alto saxophone
  • Jerry Weiss– trumpet, flugelhorn, vocals
  • Anahid Ajemian– violin
  • Fred Catero – sound effects
  • Harold Coletta – viola
  • Paul Gershman – violin
  • Al Gorgoni– organ, guitar, vocals
  • Manny Green – violin
  • Julie Held – violin
  • Doug James – shaker
  • Harry Katzman – violin
  • Leo Kruczek – violin
  • Harry Lookofsky – violin
  • Charles McCracken – cello
  • Melba Moorman– choir, chorus
  • Gene Orloff– violin
  • Valerie Simpson– choir, chorus
  • Alan Schulman – cello
  • John Simon– organ, piano, conductor, cowbell
  • The Manny Vardi Strings
  • Arrangers: Fred Catero, Al Gorgoni, Fred Lipsius, Alan Schulman, John Simon
  • Art direction: Howard Fritzson
  • Photography: Bob Cato, Don Hunstein
  • Packaging: Michael Cimicata

Track Listing:

  1. Overture – Al Kooper
  2. I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know – Al Kooper
  3. Morning Glory – Larry Beckett and Tim Buckley
  4. My Days Are Numbered – Al Kooper
  5. Without Her – Harry Nilsson
  6. Just One Smile – Randy Newman
  7. I Can’t Quit Her –  Al Kooper and Irwin Levine
  8. Meagan’s Gypsy Eyes – Steve Katz
  9. Somethin’ Goin’ On – Al Kooper
  10. House in the Country – Al Kooper
  11. The Modern Adventures of Plato, Diogenes and Freud – Al Kooper
  12. So Much Love/Underture – Gerry Goffin and Carole King