Tag Archives: Cheshire

On April 6, 2009.

On April 6, 2009, “Heavenly Recordings” label released “Kingdom of Rust” the fourth Doves studio album. It was recorded 2006 – 2009, at “Frank Bough Sound III” in Cheshire, “Green Gates” in Eyam, “Rockfield Studios” in Monmouth, Wales, “Moolah Rouge” Stockport, Manchester, and was produced by Jez Williams, Jim Goodwin, Andy Williams, Dan Austin and John Leckie.


  • Jez Williams – vocals, guitar, synthesiser, bass, piano, organ, banjo, percussion, mixing
  • Jim Goodwin – vocals, bass, guitar
  • Andy Williams – vocals, drums
  • Martin Rebelski.- piano
  • Belinda Hammond – violin
  • Oliver Morris – violin
  • Alexandra Fletcher – viola
  • Elinor Gow – cello
  • Baluji Shrivastav – dilruba
  • Tom Rowlands – arrangements
  • Dan Austin – engineer
  • Adam Whittaker – engineer
  • Will Hensley – Pro tools engineer, mix assistant
  • Michael H. Brauer – mixing
  • Zac Froud – mixing assistant
  • Bob Ludwig – mastering
  • Rick Myers – design
  • Deirdre O’Callaghan – band photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Jez Williams, Jimi Goodwin, and Andy Williams.

  1. Jetstream
  2. Kingdom of Rust
  3. The Outsiders
  4. Winter Hill
  5. 10:03
  6. The Greatest Denier
  7. Birds Flew Backwards
  8. Spellbound
  9. Compulsion
  10. House of Mirrors
  11. Lifelines

On October 5, 2000.

On October 5, 2000, “Masters of Art” label released “Curly’s Airships”, the third Judge Smith album. It was recorded 1994 – 2000, at “Masters of Art Studio” in Sussex, “The Organ Workshop” in Lymm, Cheshire, and various locations in England, France and Holland.


  • Judge Smith– vocals, bass, drum tracks
  • John Ellis– electric guitars, Ebow, mandolin
  • Hugh Banton– organ, piano
  • Pete Brown– vocals, percussion
  • Rikki Patten – supplementary guitar
  • David Jackson– saxophones, whistle
  • Joe Hinchliff – accordion
  • Ian Fordham – bass guitar, double bass
  • René van Commenée – tabla, ghatam, tambura
  • Tammo Heikens – sitar, tambura
  • David Shaw-Parker – vocals, acoustic guitar, banjo, actor
  • Arthur Brown– vocals
  • Peter Hammill– vocals
  • Paul Roberts– vocals
  • Paul Thompson – vocals
  • Nick Lucas – vocals, actor
  • Gwendolyn Gray – actress
  • Mike Bell – actor
  • The Mystery Marching Band
  • Cover art – Glide Design of Eastbourne

Track listing:

Chapter One: Curly Comes Through

  1. Voices From A Crystal Set
  2. Walking Her Out

Chapter Two: Curly’s Conducted Tour

  1. Curly Takes Us Up
  2. Drifting About Like a Bad Smell

Chapter Three: Curly In The Clouds

  1. Curly In The Clouds

Chapter Four: Catastrophe

  1. A Capital Idea
  2. A Shrieking Of Aluminium

Chapter Five: Curly On Civvy Street

  1. Curly On Civvy Street

Chapter Six: A Great British Compromise

  1. That Imperial Airship Scheme
  2. From The Sidelines

Chapter Seven: A Kindly Sort Of Cove

  1. A Kindly Sort Of Cove

Chapter Eight: Curly At Cardington

  1. Curly At Cardington

Chapter Nine: Lord Of A Continent

  1. A Creature Of Grace
  2. A Byronic Sort Of Blighter

Chapter Ten: Big Chief And Some Minor Bugs

  1. Big Chief And Some Minor Bugs

Chapter Eleven: Curly’s Close Shave

  1. The Canadian Run
  2. Conan Doyle & The Flying Sieve
  3. Horrors At Hendon

Chapter Twelve: Cutting The Lady In Half

  1. As Safe As A House
  2. A Ship Of Fools

Chapter Thirteen: Curly Gets The Creeps

  1. The Night Before
  2. The Morning After

Chapter Fourteen: Curly Cashes His Chips

  1. Bedford To Hastings
  2. Hastings To Beauvais

Chapter Fifteen: Carry On Curly

  1. The Muffled Drum
  2. The Final Taboo

On January 26, 2015.

On January 26, 2015, “BMG” label released “Modern Nature”, the twelve  Charlatans album. It was recorded in 2014, at Cheshire, and was produced by Jim Spencer, Tim Burgess, Tony Rodgers, Mark Collins and Martin Blunt.


  • Tim Burgess– lead vocals
  • Tony Rodgers – keyboards, backing vocals
  • Mark Collins – guitar
  • Martin Blunt – bass
  • Peter Salisbury, Gabriel Gurnsey, Stephen Morris, Dave Tolan – drums

Track listing:

  1. Talking in Tones
  2. So On
  3. Come Baby Home
  4. Keep Enough
  5. In the Tall Grass
  6. Emilie
  7. Let the Good Times Be Never Ending
  8. I Need You to Know
  9. Lean In
  10. Trouble Understanding
  11. Lot to Say

On March 11, 1975.

On March 11, 1975, “Mercury” label released “The Original Soundtrack”, the third 10 cc studio album. It was recorded in 1974, at “Strawberry Studios” in Stockport, Cheshire, and was produced by Lol Crème, Eric Stewart, Graham Gouldman and Kevin Godley.


  • Lol Creme – vocals, pianos, organ, vibes, percussion, Gizmo, violins, Moog synthesizer, autoharp
  • Eric Stewart – vocals, steel guitar, electric piano, piano, organs
  • Graham Gouldman – vocals, bass, double bass, percussion, guitar, mandolins
  • Kevin Godley – vocals, drums, timpani, marimba, timbale, bongos, bass drum, cellos, percussion, Moog synthesizer
  • Cathy Redfern – additional vocals

Track listing:

  1. Une Nuit a Paris – Kevin Godley, Lol Creme
    • One Night in Paris
    • The Same Night in Paris
    • Later That Same Night in Paris
  2. I’m Not in Love – Eric Stewart, Graham Gouldman
  3. Blackmail – Graham Gouldman, Eric Stewart
  4. The Second Sitting for the Last Supper – Eric Stewart, Lol Creme, Graham Gouldman, Kevin Godley
  5. Brand New Day – Kevin Godley, Lol Creme
  6. Flying Junk – Kevin Gouldman, Eric Stewart
  7. Life Is a Minestrone – Lol Creme, Eric Stewart
  8. The Film of My Love – Kevin Godley, Lol Creme