Tag Archives: April 6

On April 6, 2016.

On April 6, 2016, Merle Ronald Haggard died aged 79. He was songwriter, guitarist, and fiddler, together with his band the Strangers helped the creation of the Bakersfield sound, characterized by the twang of Fender Telecaster and the mix with the traditional country steel guitar sound.


On April 6, 2004.

On April 6, 2004, Niki Sullivan died aged 69. He was singer – songwriter and guitarist, best known as one of the four original members of Buddy Holly’s backing band. In 2012, Sullivan was inducted into the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame” as a member of the Crickets.

On April 6, 1987.

On April 6, 1987, “CBS” label released “Raindancing”, the second Alison Moyet studio album. It was recorded 1986 – 1987, and was produced by Jimmy Iovine, Jess Bailey, Alison Moyet, Joseph Hughes, David Freeman and Jean Guiot.


  • Alison Moyet – vocals, mixing
  • Dave Freeman – vocals
  • Mike Shipley – associate producer
  • Joe Chiccarelli, John Fryer, Robert de la Garza, Mark Desisto – recording engineer
  • Jess Bailey, Scott Litt, Mike Shipley, Humberto Gatica – mixing
  • Vladimir “Vlado” Meller – mastering
  • Richard Houghton – sleeve photography
  • Rob O’Connor (Stylorouge) – design, art direction

Track listing:

  1. Weak in the Presence of Beauty – Michael Ward, Rob Clarke
  2. Ordinary Girl – Alison Moyet, Jess Bailey, Rick Driscoll
  3. You Got me Wrong – Alison Moyet
  4. Without You – Alison Moyet
  5. Sleep Like Breathing – David Freeman, Joseph Hughes
  6. Is This Love – Alison Moyet, Jean Guiot
  7. Blow Wind Blow – Alison Moyet, Jess Bailey
  8. Glorious Love – Alison Moyet, Jess Bailey, Rick Driscoll
  9. When I Say (No Giveaway) – Alison Moyet, Jess Bailey, Rick Driscoll
  10. Stay – Alison Moyet, Jess Bailey, Rick Driscoll


Merle Haggard died aged 79.


On April 6, 2016, Merle Ronald Haggard died aged 79. Being country songwriter, singer, guitarist and fiddler, in the 70’s, Haggard was part of the outlaw country movement, and with his band the Strangers, along with Buck Owens, he created the Bakersfield sound. In 1994, Haggard was inducted into the “Country Music Hall of Fame”. In 1997, he was inducted into the “Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame”, and in 2010, Haggard was inducted in “Kennedy Center Honors”. Haggard won three “Grammy Awards”:

  • In 1984 “Best Male Country Vocal Performance– “That’s The Way Love Goes”
  • In 1998 “Best Country Collaboration with Vocals”with Clint Black, Joe Diffie, Emmylou Harris, Alison Krauss, Patty Loveless, Earl Scruggs, Ricky Skaggs, Marty Stuart, Pam Tillis, Randy Travis, Travis Tritt & Dwight Yoakam for “Same Old Train”
  • In 1999 “Grammy Hall of Fame Award”– “Mama Tried”

On April 6, 2004.


On April 6, 2004, “Epic” label released “Good News for People Who Love Bad News”, the fourth Modest Mouse album. It was recorded September–October 2003, at “Sweet Tea Studio” in Oxford, Mississippi and “Easley Recording” in Memphis, Tennessee, and was produced by Dennis Herring. The album was certified Platinum by the “RIAA” in August 2004.


  • Isaac Brock –vocals, guitar, banjo, baritone guitar, ukulele, piano, Rhodes, Hendx 3000, whistle, freak beak
  • Eric Judy –bass, acoustic guitar, backup vocals, pump organ, mellotron, tin whistle, percussion
  • Dann Gallucci – guitar,keyboards, piano, backup vocals, mellotron, drum loops, pump organ, timpani, percussion, glockenspiel
  • Benjamin Weikel –drums
  • The Rising Star Fife and Drum Band –drums
  • Tom Peloso –standup bass, fiddle
  • Dennis Herring – Harmonica
  • The Dirty Dozen Brass Band – horns
  • Milo Chaska Judy – vocals
  • The Flaming Lips– additional instrumentation
  • Art and design -Houston

Track lsiting:

All tracks by Isaac Brock, Dann Gallucci, Eric Judy, and Benjamin Weikel.

  1. Horn Intro
  2. The World at Large
  3. Float On
  4. Ocean Breathes Salty
  5. Dig Your Grave
  6. Bury Me With It
  7. Dance Hall
  8. Bukowski
  9. This Devil’s Workday
  10. The Views
  11. Satin in a Coffin
  12. Interlude (Milo)
  13. Blame It on the Tetons
  14. Black Cadillacs
  15. One Chance
  16. The Good Times Are Killing Me

On April 6, 1995.


On April 6, 1995, “Tim/Kerr Records” label released “Dandys Rule OK”, The Dandy Warhols debut studio album. It was recorded 1994 to 1995, and was produced by Courtney Taylor – Taylor and Tony Lash.


  • Courtney Taylor-Taylor– guitar, vocals, production, sleeve design and layout
  • Zia McCabe– keyboards and percussion
  • Peter Holmström– guitar
  • Eric Hedford – drums, vocals and synthesizer
  • Zedekiah Pariah –Jew’s harp, lap steel guitar, harmonicaon
  • Derek Ecklund – sitar
  • Julianne Johnson – vocals
  • Tony Lash– percussion, engineering, mastering
  • Tim Rooney – congas
  • Teddy Deane – flute
  • Dave Kinhan – album artwork painting
  • Marc Trunz – sleeve photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Courtney Taylor-Taylor, except where noted.

  1. Introduction by Young Tom
  2. The Dandy Warhols’ T.V. Theme Song
  3. Ride
  4. Best Friend
  5. Not Your Bottle
  6. (Tony, This Song Is Called) Lou Weed
  7. Nothin’ to Do
  8. The Coffee and Tea Wrecks
  9. Genius
  10. Dick
  11. Just Try
  12. Nothing (Lifestyle of a Tortured Artist for Sale)
  13. Grunge Betty
  14. Prelude: It’s a Fast Driving Rave-Up with The Dandy Warhols – Courtney Taylor-Taylor,Peter Holmström, Eric Hedford
  15. It’s a Fast Driving Rave-Up with The Dandy Warhols Sixteen Minutes – Courtney Taylor-Taylor,Peter Holmström, Eric Hedford
  16. Finale: It’s a Fast Driving Rave-Up with The Dandy Warhols – Courtney Taylor-Taylor,Peter Holmström, Eric Hedford

A hidden track starts at 3:11 into “Finale: It’s a Fast Driving Rave-Up with The Dandy Warhols”. It is a short reprise of “Dick”.