On September 21, 1993.


On September 21, 1993, “DGC Records” label released “In Utero”, the third and the final Nirvana studio album. It was recorded February 12–26, 1993, at “Pachyderm Studio” in Cannon Falls, Minnesota, and was produced by Steve Albini and Scott Litt. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “In Utero” at number 435 on its list of the “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. The album was certified Platinum in Argentina by “CAPIF”; 2 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”; 6 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in France by “SNEP”; Platinum in Japan by “RIAJ”; 3 x Platinum in New Zealand by “RMNZ”; Platinum in Spain by “PROMUSICAE”; Platinum in UK by “BPI”; and 5 x Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Kurt Cobain – lead vocals, guitar, art direction, design, photography
  • Krist Novoselic- bass guitar
  • Dave Grohl- drums, backing vocals
  • Kera Schaley – cello
  • Steve Albini – engineer
  • Adam Kasper – second engineer
  • Scott Litt– mixing
  • Bob Ludwig – mastering
  • Robert Fisher – art direction, design, photography
  • Alex Grey– illustrations
  • Michael Lavine– photography
  • Karen Mason – photography
  • Charles Peterson– photography
  • Neil Wallace – photography
  • Bob Weston– technician

Track listing:

  1. Serve the Servants –Kurt Cobain
  2. Scentless Apprentice – Kurt Cobain, Dave Grohl, Krist Novoselic
  3. Heart-Shaped Box – Kurt Cobain
  4. Rape Me – Kurt Cobain
  5. Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle – Kurt Cobain
  6. Dumb – Kurt Cobain
  7. Very Ape – Kurt Cobain
  8. Milk It – Kurt Cobain
  9. Pennyroyal Tea – Kurt Cobain
  10. Radio Friendly Unit Shifter – Kurt Cobain
  11. Tourette’s – Kurt Cobain
  12. All Apologies – Kurt Cobain


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.