Blue Mitchell: Collision in Black

In April 1969, “Blue Note” label released “Collision in Black”, the 15th Blue Mitchell album. It was recorded in September 1968, at “RPM Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Monk Higgins and Dee Ervin.


  • Blue Mitchell – trumpet
  • Monk Higgins – tenor saxophone, piano, organ, arrangements
  • Jim Horn, Ernie Watts – flute
  • Anthony Ortega – tenor saxophone
  • Dick “Slyde” Hyde, Jack Redmond – trombone
  • Al Vescovo – guitar
  • Miles Grayson – piano, percussion
  • Dee Ervin – organ, percussion
  • Bob West – electric bass
  • Paul Humphrey – drums
  • John Cyr – percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Monk Higgins, except where noted.

  1. Collision in Black
  2. Deeper in Black – Peggy Grayson
  3. Jo Ju Ja – Virginia P. Bland
  4. Blue on Black
  5. Swahilli Suite
  6. Monkin’ Around
  7. Keep Your Nose Clean – Virginia P. Bland
  8. I Ain’t Jivin’ – Virginia P. Bland
  9. Digging in the Dirt
  10. Who Dun It?
  11. Kick It – Virginia P. Bland
  12. Keep Your Soul Together

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.