In September 1970.

In September 1970, “Curtom” label released “Curtis”, the debut Curtis Mayfield solo album. It was recorded May – July 1970, at “RCA Studios” in Chicago, and was produced by Curtis Mayfield.


  • Curtis Mayfield – primary artist
  • Loren Binford, Sol Bobrob, Clifford Davis, Harold Dessent, Donald Simmons, Leonard Druss, Robert Lewis, Clifford Davis, Donald Simmons, Elliot Golub, Gary Slabo, Harold Klatz, Harold Lepp, Henry Gibson, John Howell, John Ross,Patrick Ferreri, Philip Upchurch, Richard Single, Robert Sims, Ronald Kolber, Rudolph Stauber, Sam Heiman – musicians
  • Bob Cato – photography, design
  • John A. Beck – design
  • J. Anfinson, Tom Flye – engineer
  • Riley Hampton, Gary Slabo – arranger
  • Dan Turbeville – assistant engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Curtis Mayfield.

  1. (Don’t Worry) If There’s a Hell Below, We’re All Going to Go
  2. The Other Side of Town
  3. The Makings of You
  4. We the People Who Are Darker Than Blue
  5. Move On Up
  6. Miss Black America
  7. Wild and Free
  8. Give It Up

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.