On August 16, 1977.

Elvis Presley

On August 16, 1977, Elvis Aaron Presley, died aged 42. Being singer and actor, he had one of the most successful careers in the popular music ever and is regarded as one of the most significant cultural icons of the 20th century. He played key role in the popularization of Rock and Roll in America and worldwide and became the first global music icon and superstar. Presley is one of the best sold artists in the music history with an army of millions of devoted fans worldwide.

On August 16, 1938.

Robert Johnston


On August 16, 1938, Robert Leroy Johnson, died aged 27. Being blues singer-songwriter and musician, he performed mostly in the streets, in juke joints, and at Saturday night dances, so his career and life were very poorly documented. Only after the reissue of his recordings on the 1961 album “King of the Delta blues singers”, wider audience got a chance to know his exceptional songwriting, singing and guitar playing talent. Today he is recognized as the “Master of the blues”, with huge number of followers and admirers of his work among the world famous musicians. Eric Clapton has called Johnson “The most important blues singer that ever lived”. Johnson was ranked fifth position in the “Rolling Stone” magazine list of “100 greatest guitarists of all time”.

On August 16, 2002.


On August 16, 2002,  “Vaulternative Records” (label from the “Zappa Family Trust”), released “FZ:OZ”, a live album by Frank Zappa. The two CD’s set contains almost all material from the concert from January 20, 1976, held at the “Hordern Pavilion” in Sydney. The album was produced by Dweezil Zappa.


  • Frank Zappa– guitar, vocals
  • Terry Bozzio– drums, vocals
  • Napoleon Murphy Brock– tenor saxophone, vocals
  • Roy Estrada– bass guitar, vocals
  • Andre Lewis– keyboards, vocals
  • Norman Gunston– harmonica

Track listing:

All tracks by Frank Zappa.

  1. Hordern Intro (Incan Art Vamp)
  2. Stink-Foot
  3. The Poodle Lecture
  4. Dirty Love
  5. Filthy habits
  6. How Could I Be Such a Fool
  7. I Ain’t Got No Heart
  8. I’m Not Satisfied
  9. Black Napkins
  10. Advance Romance
  11. The Illinois Enema Bandit
  12. Wind Up Workin’ in a Gas Station
  13. The Torture Never Stops
  14. Canard Toujours
  15. Kaiser Rolls
  16. Find Her Finer
  17. Carolina Hard-Core Ecstasy
  18. Lonely Little Girl
  19. Take Your Clothes Off When You Dance
  20. What’s the Ugliest Part of Your Body
  21. Chunga’s Revenge
  22. Zoot Allures
  23. Keep it Greasy
  24. Dinah-Moe-Humm
  25. Camarillo Brillo
  26. Muffin Man
  27. Kaiser Rolls (Du Jour)



On August 16, 1995.


On August 16, 1995, “Warner Bros” label released “Sleeps With Angels”, the twenty-first Neil Young & Crazy Horse album ”. It was recorded November 1993 – April 1994,  at “The Complex Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Neil Young and David Briggs. Young created the title track after the death of Kurt Cobain, who quoted him in his suicide note.


  • Neil Young: guitar, tack piano, accordion, flute, harmonica, vocals
  • Frank “Poncho” Sampedro: guitar, grand piano, electric piano, keyboards, bass marimba, vocals
  • Billy Talbot: bass, vibes, bass marimba, vocals
  • Ralph Molina: drums, vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Neil Young, except where noted.

  1. My Heart
  2. Prime of Life
  3. Driveby
  4. Sleeps With Angels
  5. Western Hero
  6. Change Your Mind
  7. Blue Eden – Ralph Molina, Frank Sampedro, Billy Talbot, Neil Young
  8. Safeway Cart
  9. Train of Love
  10. Trans Am
  11. Piece of Crap
  12. A Dream That Can Last


On August 15, 1981.


On August 15, 1981, label “Sire” released “Pretenders II”, second studio album by The Pretenders. It was recorded 1980–1981, at
“Wessex Studios”, London and “Pathe Marconi Studios”, Paris and was produced by Chris Thomas.


  • Chrissie Hynde– rhythm guitar, lead vocals
  • Pete Farndon– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Martin Chambers– drums, backing vocals
  • James Honeyman-Scott– lead guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Chris Mercer– tenor saxophone
  • Henry Lowther– trumpet
  • Jim Wilson– trumpet
  • Geoff Bryant– French horn
  • Chris Thomas– sound effects

Track listing:

All tracks by Chrissie Hynde except where noted.

  1. The Adultress
  2. Bad Boys Get Spanked
  3. Message of Love
  4. I Go to Sleep – Ray Davies
  5. Birds of Paradise
  6. Talk of the Town
  7. Pack It Up – Chrissie Hynde and James Honeyman-Scott
  8. Waste Not Want Not
  9. Day After Day – Chrissie Hynde, Honeyman-Scott
  10. Jealous dogs
  11. The English Roses
  12. Louie Louie

On August 15, 1979.


On August 15, 1979, label “Swan Song” released “In Through the Out Door”, the eighth Led Zeppelin studio album .  It was recorded over a three-week period in November and December 1978 at ABBA’s “Polar Studios” in Stockholm, and was produced by Jimmy Page.This was band’s final album with completely new material and the last one released before the death of the drummer John Bonham in 1980.  The album sleeve design was created by Hipgnosis. “In Through the Out Door” was certified 2 x Platinum in Australia by the “ARIA”; Platinum in UK by the “BPI” and 6 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • Robert Plant– lead vocals
  • John Bonham– drums
  • John Paul Jones– bass guitar,  mandolin,  keyboards,  synthesizer, piano
  • Jimmy Page– electric and acoustic guitars, Gizmotron

Track listing:

  1. In the Evening – John Paul Jones, Robert Plant, Jimmy Page
  2. South Bound Saurez – John Paul Jones, Robert Plant
  3. Fool in the Rain – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, John Paul Jones
  4. Hot dog – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  5. Carouselambra – John Paul Jones, Robert Plant, jimmy Page
  6. All My Love – John Paul Jones, Robert Plant
  7. I’m Gonna Crawl – John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant


On August 14, 1971.

Whos next

On August 14, 1971, “Track” label released “Who’s Next”, the fifth Who studio album. It was recorded April -June 1971, at the “Olympic Studios” and “Stargroves” (Rolling Stones Mobile Studio)  in London, and was produced by Glyn Johns, Roger Daltrey, Pete Townshend, John Entwistle and Keith Moon. The album was developed from Pete Townshend’s aborted multi-media rock opera “Lifehouse”, written as a follow-up to 1969 album “Tommy”. “Lifehouse” was cancelled due to its complexity and conflicts with band’s manager Kit Lambert, but Townshend was insisting to record the songs and they finally appeared as “Who’s next”, as a straightforward studio album.


  • Roger Daltrey– vocals
  • Keith Moon– drums, percussion
  • John Entwistle– vocals, bass, brass, piano
  • Pete Townshend– vocals, guitar, VCS3, organ, R.P. synthesiser, piano
  • Dave Arbus– violin
  • Nicky Hopkins– piano
  • Al Kooper– organ
  • Leslie West– lead guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Pete Townshend, except  where noted.

  1. Baba o’Riley
  2. Bargain
  3. Love Ain’t for Keeping
  4. My Wife – John Entwistle
  5. The Song is Over
  6. Getting it True
  7. Going Mobile
  8. Behind Blue Eyes
  9. Won’t Get Fooled Again


This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas