On October 10, 1969.

Hot Rats

On October 10, 1969, “Bizarre” label released “Hot Rats”, the first solo album by Frank Zappa after the dissolution of the original  Mothers of Invention.  Ian Underwood is the only original member of the Mothers of Invention to appear on the album. It was recorded July- August, 1969, at the “T.T.G” and “Sunset Sound” in Los Angeles, and “Whitney Studios” in Glendale, and was produced by Frank Zappa.


  • Frank Zappa– guitar, octave bass, percussion
  • Ian Underwood– piano, organus maximus, flute, all clarinets, all saxes
  • Max Bennett– bass
  • Captain Beefheart– vocals
  • John Guerin– drums
  • Don “Sugarcane” Harris– violin
  • Paul Humphrey– drums
  • Shuggie Otis– bass
  • Jean-Luc Ponty– violin
  • Ron Selico – drums
  • Lowell George– rhythm guitar

All compositions by Frank Zappa.

  1. Peaches en Regalia
  2. Willie the Pimp
  3. Son of Mr. Green Genes
  4. Little Umbrellas
  5. The Gumbo Variations
  6. It must be a Camel



On October 10, 1966.

Parsley Sage Rosemary and Thyme

On October 10, 1966, “Columbia Records” released “Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme”, the third studio album by Simon & Garfunkel. It was recorded December 1965–August 1966, and was produced by Bob Johnston. “Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme” was breakthrough in Simon and Garfunkel’s career and was certified 3 x Platinum in US by the “RIIA”.


  • Paul Simon– vocals, guitar
  • Art Garfunkel– vocals, piano
  • Hal Blaine– drums
  • Joe South– guitar
  • Carol Kaye– bass guitar
  • John Meszar – harpsichord
  • Eugene Wright– bass guitar
  • Joe Morello– drums
  • Charlie O’Donnell– vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul Simon except where noted.

  1. Scarborough Fair/Canticle – traditional, arranged by Paul Simon, Art Garfunkel
  2. Patterns
  3. Cloudy – Paul Simon, Bruce Woodley
  4. Homeward Bound
  5. The Big bright Green Pleasure Machine
  6. The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin’ Groovy)
  7. The Dangling Conversation
  8. Flowers Never Bend With the Rainfall
  9. A Simple Desultory Philippic (or How I Was Robert McNamara’d into Submission)
  10. For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her
  11. A Poem on the Underground Wall
  12. 7 O’Clock news/Silent Night – Josef Mohr, Franz Gruber


On October 9, 2000.

Black Market Music

On October 9, 2000, “Hut” label released “Black Market Music”, the third studio album by Placebo. The album was recorded from late1999 to mid 2000, at the “Olympic Studios”, “Townhouse Studios” and “Moody Studios” in London, and was produced by Paul Corkett.

  • Brian Molko– vocals, guitar, keyboards, 6-string bass
  • Stefan Olsdal– bass, guitar, 6-string bass, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Steve Hewitt– drums, percussion
  • Rob Ellis – string arrangements
  • Bill Lloyd – bass
  • Severe Loren – backing vocals
  • Dimitri Tikovoï– string programming
  • Justin Warfield– rapping vocals

Track listing:

All compositions by Placebo, except where noted.

  1. Taste in Men
  2. Days Before You Came
  3. Special K
  4. Spite & Malice (feat. Justin Warfield) –  Placebo and Justin Warfield
  5. Passive Aggressive
  6. Black-Eyed
  7. Blue American
  8. Slave to the Wage – Kannberg, Malkmus, Placebo
  9. Commercial for Levi
  10. Haemoglobin
  11. Narcoleptic
  12. Peeping Tom

On October 9, 1989.


On October 9, 1989, “Blanco y Negro Records” label released “Automatic”, the third album by The Jesus and Mary Chain. The band on this album is the duo of brothers William and Jim Reid. The album was recorded in 1989, at the “Sam Therapy”, in London, and was produced by the Reid brothers.


  • Jim Reid- vocals, guitar, synthesizer, drum programming
  • William Reid- vocals, guitar, synthesizer, drum programming

Track listing:

All compositions by Jim Reid and William Reid.

  1. Here Comes Alice
  2. Coast to Coast
  3. Blues from a Gun
  4. Between Planets
  5. UV Ray
  6. Her Way of Praying
  7. Head On
  8. Take It
  9. Halfway to Crazy
  10. Gimme Hell


On October 9, 1987.

Tunnel of Love

On October 9, 1987, “Columbia” label released “Tunnel of Love”, the eighth Bruce Springsteen studio album.  It was recorded January – July 1987, and was produced by Bruce Springsteen, Jon Landau and Chuck Plotkin. in 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked it at number 467 on their list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Bruce Springsteen– lead vocals, backing vocals, guitar, mandolin, bass guitar, keyboards, harmonica, percussion, drum machines
  • Roy Bittan– piano, synthesizers
  • Clarence Clemons– backing vocals
  • Danny Federici– organ
  • Nils Lofgren– guitar, backing vocals
  • Patti Scialfa– backing vocals
  • Garry Tallent– bass guitar
  • Max Weinberg– drums, percussion

Track listing:

All compositions by Bruce Springsteen.

  1. Ain’t Got You
  2. Tougher Than the Rest
  3. All That Heaven Will Allow
  4. Spare Parts
  5. Cautious Man
  6. Walk Like a Man
  7. Tunnel of Love
  8. Two Faces
  9. Brilliant Disguise
  10. One Step Up
  11. When You’re Alone
  12. Valentine’s Day


On October 9, 1979.


On October 9, 1979, “Mulligan Records” released “The Fine Art of Surfacing”, the third Boomtown Rats album.  It was recorded in 1979, and was produced by Robert John “Mutt” Lange and Phil Wainman. The album contained the track “I Don’t Like Mondays”, that became band’s trademark song.


  • Bob Geldof– vocals, saxophone
  • Pete Briquette– bass, vocals
  • Gerry Cott– guitar
  • Johnnie Fingers– keyboards, vocals
  • Simon Crowe– drums, vocals
  • Garry Roberts– guitar, vocals

Track listing:

All compositions by Bob Geldof, except where noted.

  1. Someone’s Looking at You
  2. Diamond Smiles
  3. Wind Chill Factor (Minus Zero)
  4. Having My Picture Taken – Bob Geldof, Pete Briquette
  5. Sleep (Fingers’ Lullaby) – Johnnie Fingers
  6. A hidden track(with lyrics including “that’s not funny, I’m not laughing”), on the original LP playing through to the run-out groove.
  7. I Don’t Like Mondays
  8. Nothing Happened Today
  9. Keep It Up – Bob Geldof, Gerry Cott
  10. Nice N Neat
  11. When the Night Comes



On October 8, 1980.

Talking Heads Remain in Light

On October 8, 1980, “Sire” label released “Remain in Light”, the fourth Talking Heads studio album. The album was recorded in July–August 1980, at the “Compass Point Studios” in Nassau, and at “Sigma Sound Studios” in New York, and was produced by Brian Eno.


  • David Byrne – lead vocals, guitars, bass guitar, keyboards, percussion, vocal arrangements
  • Jerry Harrison – guitars, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Tina Weymouth – bass guitar, keyboards, percussion, backing vocals
  • Chris Frantz – drums, percussion, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Brian Eno – bass guitar, keyboards, percussion, backing vocals, vocal arrangements
  • Nona Hendryx– backing vocals
  • Adrian Belew– guitar
  • Robert Palmer– percussion
  • José Rossy – percussion
  • Jon Hassell– trumpets, horns

Track listing:

All compositions by David Byrne, Brian Eno, Chris Frantz, Jerry Harrison, and Tina Weymouth.

  1. Born Under Punches
  2. Crosseyed and Painless
  3. The Great Curve
  4. Once in a Lifetime
  5. Houses in Motion
  6. Seen and Not Seen
  7. Listening Wind
  8. The Overload



This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas