On June 4, 1996.

On June 4, 1996, “Gut” label released “1996”, the twelve Ryuichi Sakamoto studio album. It was recorded in 1996, at “Right Track Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Ryuichi Sakamoto. The album contains a selection of his popular songs and two new songs, arranged for piano trio.


  • Ryuichi Sakamoto– piano
  • Jaques Morelenbaum– cello
  • Everton Nelson – violin
  • David Nadien– violin
  • Barry Finclair – violin
  • Fernando Aponte – engineer, mixing
  • Ted Jensen– mastering
  • Joe Lizzi & Jason Goldstein – assistant engineers
  • Hideki Nakajima – art direction, design
  • Yoshinori Ochiai – design
  • Kazunari Tajima – photography
  • Clare de Graw, David Rubinson – production managers

Track listing:

All tracks by Ryuichi Sakamoto.

  1. A Day a Gorilla Gives a Banana
  2. Rain
  3. Bibo no Aozora
  4. The Last Emperor
  5. 1919
  6. Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence
  7. A.Y. in the Backyard
  8. The Sheltering Sky
  9. A Tribute to N.J.P.
  10. High Heels (main theme)
  11. Aoneko no Torso
  12. The Wuthering Heights
  13. Parolibre
  14. Acceptance (End Credit)
  15. Before Long
  16. Bring Them Home

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.