In June 1960.

In June 1960, “Blue Note” label released “Davis Cup”, the debut Walter Davis Jr. album. It was recorded in August 1959, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Walter Davis Jr.– piano
  • Donald Byrd– trumpet
  • Jackie McLean– alto saxophone
  • Sam Jones– bass
  • Art Taylor– drums

 Track listing:

 All tracks by Walter Davis Jr.

  1. ‘Smake It
  2. Loodle-Lot
  3. Sweetness
  4. Rhumba Nhumba
  5. Minor Mind
  6. Millie’s Delight


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.