On August 1, 1995.

Ben Harper - Fight For Your Mind

On August 1, 1995, “Virgin” label released “Fight for Your Mind”, the second Ben Harper studio album. It was recorded in 1995, and was produced by Ben Harper, Jean-Pierre Plunier and Bob “Stiv” Coke. it was Harper’s last solo album before adding the Innocent Criminals to his line-up.


  • Ben Harper – acoustic guitar, Vocals, weissenborn
  • Brett Banduci – viola
  • Danielle Charles – violin
  • Oliver Charles – drums
  • Bob “Stiv” Coke – tabla, tambourine, tamboura, sarod
  • Timothy Loo – cello
  • Leon Mobley- percussion
  • Juan Nelson – bass
  • Ervin Pope – organ, Hammond organ
  • Associate Producer: Jeff Gottlieb
  • Assistant Producer: Jeff Gottlieb
  • Engineer: Bradley Cook
  • Assistant engineers: Ryan Boesh, Todd Burke, Paul Naguna
  • Mixing: The Dub Brothers, Femi Jiya, Eric Sarafin
  • Mastering: Eddy Schreyer
  • String arrangements: Ben Harper, J.P. Plunier
  • Design: Tom Dolan
  • Art direction: Tom Dolan, J.P. Plunier
  • Photography: Bob “Stiv” Coke, Jeff Gottlieb
  • Research: Ben Elder

Track listing:

All tracks by Ben Harper except where noted.

  1. Oppression
  2. Ground on Down
  3. Another Lonely Day
  4. Please Me Like You Want To
  5. Gold to Me
  6. Burn One Down
  7. Excuse Me Mr. – Ben Harper, P. Plunier
  8. People Lead
  9. Fight for Your Mind
  10. Give a Man a Home
  11. By My Side
  12. Power of the Gospel
  13. God Fearing Man
  14. One Road to Freedom



On August 1, 1980.


On August 1, 1980, “Polydor” label released “Kaleidoscope”, the third Siouxsie and the Banshees  studio album. It was recorded in 1980, and was produced by Nigel Gray and Siouxsie and the Banshees.


  • Siouxsie Sioux– vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, finger cymbals, camera, melodica, production
  • Steven Severin– bass guitar, electric guitar, vocals, piano, synthesizer, electric sitar, production
  • Budgie– drums, harmonica, bass guitar, percussion, production
  • John McGeoch– guitar, saxophone, Farfisa organ, sitar, string synth, production
  • Steve Jones– lead guitar

Track listing:

All lyrics by Siouxsie Sioux, except “Red Light” and “Christine”, by Steven Severin, all music by Siouxsie Sioux and Steven Severin, except “Trophy”, by Siouxsie Sioux, Steven Severin and John McGeoch.

  1. Happy House
  2. Tenant
  3. Trophy
  4. Hybrid
  5. Clockface
  6. Lunar Camel
  7. Christine
  8. Desert Kisses
  9. Red Light
  10. Paradise Place
  11. Skin


On August 1, 1969.

JethroTull-Stand Up

On August 1, 1969, “Island” label released “Stand Up”, the second Jethro Tull studio album. It was recorded April–May 1969. at “Morgan Studios” and “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Terry Ellis and Ian Anderson. Before recordings session began, the band’s original guitarist Mick Abrahams resigned because of musical differences with Ian Anderson; he was replaced by guitarist Martin Barre.


  • Ian Anderson – vocals, flute, acoustic guitar, Hammond organ, piano, mandolin, balalaika, mouth organ
  • Martin Lancelot Barre – electric guitar, flute
  • Glenn Cornick – bass guitar
  • Clive Bunker – drums, percussion
  • Andy Johns – bass guitar

Track listing

All tracks by Ian Anderson except where noted.

  1. A New Day Yesterday
  2. Jeffrey Goes to Leicester Square
  3. Bouree – J.S.Bach – arr. Ian Anderson
  4. Back to Family
  5. Look Into the Sun
  6. Nothing is Easy
  7. Fat Man
  8. We Used to Know
  9. Reasons for Waiting
  10. For a Thousand Mothers

On July 31, 1967.


On July 31, 1967, “Atlantic” label released “Groovin’”, the third Young Rascals albums. It was recorded December 1966 – June 1967, and was produced by The Young Rascals. This was the last album on which the band was billed as “The Young Rascals”; the next album ”Once Upon a Dream” would be credited to simply “The Rascals”. The album front cover design was conceived by the band’s drummer Dino Danelli.


  • Felix Cavaliere– vocals, keyboards, organ
  • Eddie Brigati– vocals, percussion
  • Gene Cornish– vocals, guitar, bass, harmonica
  • Dino Danelli– drums
  • David Brigati– vocals
  • Hubert Laws– flute
  • Chuck Rainey- bass guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Felix Cavaliere and Eddie Brigati, except where noted.

  1. A Girl Like You
  2. Find Somebody
  3. I’m So Happy Now – Gene Cornish
  4. Sueño
  5. How Can I Be Sure
  6. Groovin’
  7. If You Knew
  8. I Don’t Love You Anymore – Gene Cornish
  9. You Better Run
  10. A Place in the Sun – Ronald Miller, Brian Wells
  11. It’s Love

On July 30, 2002.


On July 30, 2002, “Columbia” label released “The Rising”, the twelfth Bruce Springsteen studio album. It was recorded January – March 2002, and was produced by Brendan O’Brien. “The Rising” won “Grammy Award” for “Best Rock Album” in 2003.


  • Bruce Springsteen– lead guitar, vocals, acoustic guitar, baritone guitar, harmonica
  • Roy Bittan– keyboards, piano, mellotron, Kurzweil, pump organ, Korg M1, crumar
  • Clarence Clemons– saxophone, background vocals
  • Danny Federici– Hammond B3, Vox Continental, Farfisa
  • Nils Lofgren– electric guitar, Dobro, slide guitar, banjo, background vocals
  • Patti Scialfa– vocals
  • Garry Tallent– bass guitar
  • Steven Van Zandt– electric guitar, background vocals, mandolin
  • Max Weinberg– drums
  • Soozie Tyrell– violin, background vocals
  • Brendan O’Brien– hurdy-gurdy, glockenspiel, orchestra bells
  • Larry Lemaster– cello
  • Jere Flint– cello
  • Jane Scarpantoni– cello
  • Nashville String Machine
  • Asuf Ali Khanand Group
  • Alliance Singers
  • The Miami Horns

Track listing:

All tracks by Bruce Springsteen.

  1. Lonesome Day
  2. Into the Fire
  3. Waitin’ on a Sunny Day
  4. Nothing Man
  5. Countin’ on a Miracle
  6. Empty Sky
  7. Worlds Apart
  8. Let’s Be Friends (Skin to Skin)
  9. Further On (Up the Road)
  10. The Fuse
  11. Mary’s Place
  12. You’re Missing
  13. The Rising
  14. Paradise
  15. My City of Ruins

On July 30, 1969.

Truly Fine Citizen

On July 30, 1969, “Columbia” label released “Truly Fine Citizen”, the fourth Moby Grape studio album. It was recorded in May 1969, and was produced by Bob Johnston.


  • Peter Lewis- rhythm guitar, vocals
  • Jerry Miller- lead guitar, vocals
  • Don Stevenson- drums, vocals
  • Bob Moore- bass

Track listing:

  1. Changes, Circles Spinning – Peter Lewis
  2. Looper – Peter Lewis
  3. Truly Fine Citizen – Tim Dell’Ara
  4. Beautiful Is Beautiful – Tim Dell’Ara
  5. Love Song – Tim Dell’Ara
  6. Right Before My Eyes – Peter Lewis
  7. Open Up Your Heart – Tim Dell’Ara
  8. Now I Know High – Peter Lewis
  9. Treat Me Bad – Tim Dell’Ara
  10. Tongue-Tied – Jerry Miller, Skip Spence
  11. Love Song, Part Two – Tim Dell’Ara


On July 30, 1969.

Miles Davis-In a Silent Way

On July 30, 1969, “Columbia” label released “In a Silent Way” album by Miles Davis. It was recorded in one session on February 18, 1969, at “CBS 30th Street Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Teo Macero. The album is regarded by fans and critics as one of Davis’s greatest and most influential works.


  • Miles Davis– trumpet
  • Wayne Shorter– soprano saxophone
  • John McLaughlin– electric guitar
  • Chick Corea– electric piano
  • Herbie Hancock– electric piano
  • Joe Zawinul– organ
  • Dave Holland– double bass
  • Tony Williams– drums
  • Original recording engineer – Stan Tonkel
  • Cover photography – Lee Friedlander
  • Back cover photography – John G. Walter
  • Back cover notes – Frank Glenn

Track listing:

  1. Shhh/Peaceful – Miles Davis
  • Shhh
  • Peaceful
  • Shhh
  1. In a Silent Way/It’s About That Time – Joe Zawinul, Miles Davis
  • In a Silent Way
  • It’s About That Time
  • In a Silent Way

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas