Tag Archives: Teddy Smith

On August 30, 1969.

On August 30, 1966, “ESP” label released “Staying on the Watch”, the debut Sonny Simmons album. It was recorded in 1966 and was produced by Bernard Stollman.


  • Sonny Simmons- alto saxophone
  • Barbara Donald- trumpet
  • John Hicks- piano
  • Teddy Smith- bass
  • Marvin Patillo- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Sonny Simmons

  1. Metamorphosis
  2. A Distant Voice
  3. City of David
  4. Interplanetary Travelers

In August 1964.

In August 1964, “RCA Victor” label released “The Standard Sonny Rollins”, the 23rd Sonny Rollins album. It was recorded June – July 1064, in New York City, and was produced by George Avakian.


  • Sonny Rollins– tenor saxophone
  • Herbie Hancock- piano
  • Jim Hall- guitar
  • David Izenzon- bass
  • Teddy Smith– bass
  • Bob Cranshaw– bass
  • Stu Martin- drums
  • Mickey Roker– drums

Track listing:

  1. Autumn Nocturne – Kim Gannon, Josef Myrow
  2. Night and Day- Cole Porter
  3. Love Letters – Edward Heyman, Victor Young
  4. My One and Only Love – Robert Mellin, Guy Wood
  5. Three Little Words – Bert Kalmar, Harry Ruby
  6. Trav’lin’ Light – Johnny Mercer, Jimmy Mundy, Trummy Young
  7. I’ll Be Seeing You – Sammy Fain, Irving Kahal
  8. My Ship – Ira Gershwin, Kurt Weill
  9. It Could Happen to You – Johnny Burke, Jimmy Van Heusen
  10. Long Ago (and Far Away) – George Gershwin, Jerome Kern

In January 1965.

In January 1965, “Blue Note” label released “Song for My Father”, the thirteen Horace Silver album. It was recorded on October 31, 1963, January 28 and October 26 1964, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Horace Silver– piano
  • Carmell Jones– trumpet
  • Joe Henderson– tenor saxophone
  • Teddy Smith– bass
  • Roger Humphries– drums
  • Blue Mitchell– trumpet
  • Junior Cook– tenor saxophone
  • Gene Taylor– bass
  • Roy Brooks – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Horace Silver, except where noted.

  1. Song for My Father
  2. The Natives Are Restless Tonight
  3. Calcutta Cutie
  4. Que Pasa
  5. The Kicker – Joe Henderson
  6. Lonely Woman