Kenny Dorham: Matador

In February 1963, “United Artists” label released “Matador”, the 16th Kenny Dorham album. It was recorded in April 1962, at “Sound Makers” in New York City, and was produced by Alan Douglas.


  • Kenny Dorham – trumpet
  • Jackie McLean – alto saxophone
  • Bobby Timmons – piano
  • Teddy Smith – bass
  • J.C. Moses – drums

Track listing:

  1. El Matador – Kenny Dorham
  2. Melanie Parts 1-3 – Jackie McLean
  3. Smile – Charlie Chaplin
  4. Beautiful Love – Haven Gillespie, Wayne King, Egbert Van Alstyne, Victor Young
  5. Prelude – Heitor Villa-Lobos
  6. There Goes My Heart – Benny Davis, Abner Silver

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.