On August 30, 1969.

On August 30, 1966, “ESP” label released “Staying on the Watch”, the debut Sonny Simmons album. It was recorded in 1966 and was produced by Bernard Stollman.


  • Sonny Simmons- alto saxophone
  • Barbara Donald- trumpet
  • John Hicks- piano
  • Teddy Smith- bass
  • Marvin Patillo- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Sonny Simmons

  1. Metamorphosis
  2. A Distant Voice
  3. City of David
  4. Interplanetary Travelers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.