Horace Silver: Song for My Father

In January 1965, “Blue Note” label released “Song for My Father”, the thirteen Horace Silver album. It was recorded on October 31, 1963, January 28 and October 26 1964, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Horace Silver– piano
  • Carmell Jones– trumpet
  • Joe Henderson– tenor saxophone
  • Teddy Smith– bass
  • Roger Humphries– drums
  • Blue Mitchell– trumpet
  • Junior Cook– tenor saxophone
  • Gene Taylor– bass
  • Roy Brooks – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Horace Silver, except where noted.

  1. Song for My Father
  2. The Natives Are Restless Tonight
  3. Calcutta Cutie
  4. Que Pasa
  5. The Kicker – Joe Henderson
  6. Lonely Woman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.