On November 17, 2017.

On November 17, 2017, “ANTI-Records” label released “If All I Was Was Black”, the thirteenth Mavis Staples album. It was recorded in May 2017, and was produced by Jeff Tweedy.


  • Mavis Staples – vocals
  • Jeff Tweedy – vocals, guitar, bass, percussion
  • Spencer Tweedy – drums, percussion
  • Rick Holmstrom – guitar
  • Glenn Kotche – percussion
  • Scott Ligon – clavinet, piano, organ, Wurly, guitar
  • Jeff Turnes – bass
  • Stephen Hodges – drums, percussion
  • Donny Gerrard – backing vocals
  • Kelly Hogan – backing vocals
  • Akenya – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Jeff Tweedy, except where noted.

  1. Little Bit
  2. If All I Was Was Black – Jeff Tweedy, Mavis Staples
  3. Who Told You That
  4. Ain’t No Doubt About It
  5. Peaceful Dream
  6. No Time for Crying – Jeff Tweedy, Mavis Staples
  7. Build a Bridge
  8. We Go High – Jeff Tweedy, Mavis Staples
  9. Try Harder
  10. All Over Again

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.