Johnny Griffin: The Little Giant

In December 1959, “Riverside” label released “The Little Giant”, the seventh Johnny Griffin album. It was recorded in August 1959, at “Reeves Sound Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • Johnny Griffin – tenor saxophone
  • Blue Mitchell – trumpet
  • Julian Priester – trombone
  • Wynton Kelly – piano
  • Sam Jones – bass
  • Albert “Tootie” Heath – drums

Track listing:

  1. Olive Refractions – Norman Simmons
  2. The Message – Norman Simmons
  3. Lonely One – Babs Gonzales
  4. 63rd Street Theme – Johnny Griffin
  5. Playmates – Saxie Dowell
  6. Venus and the Moon – Norman Simmons

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.