On July 20, 1972.

On July 20, 1972, “Grunt” label released “Long John Silver”, the seventh Jefferson Airplane studio album. It was recorded March – May 1972, at “Wally Heider Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Grace Slick, Jack Casady, Paul Kantner, Jorma Kaukonen, Papa John Creech, John Barbata and Joey Covington.


  • Grace Slick– vocals, piano, arrangements
  • Jack Casady– bass, arrangements
  • Paul Kantner– vocals, rhythm guitar, arrangements
  • Jorma Kaukonen– vocals, lead guitar, arrangements
  • Papa John Creach– electric violin, arrangements
  • John Barbata– drums, tambourine, arrangements
  • Joey Covington– drums, arrangements
  • Pat “Maurice the Magnificent” Leraci – production coordinator
  • Don Gooch – engineer
  • Pacific Eye & Ear – album concept, album design
  • Bob Tanenbaum, Propella Rotini – illustrations
  • Bruce Kinch – photography

Track listing:

  1. Long John Silver – Grace Slick, Jack Casady
  2. Aerie (Gang of Eagles) – Grace Slick
  3. Twilight Double Leader – Paul Kantner
  4. Milk Train – Grace Slick, Papa John Creach, Roger Spotts
  5. The Son of Jesus – Paul Kantner
  6. Easter? – Grace Slick
  7. Trial by Free – Jorma Kaukonen
  8. Alexander the Medium – Paul Kantner
  9. Eat Starch Mom – Grace Slick, Jorma Kaukonen


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.