Tag Archives: Rare Book Room

On September 23, 2003.

On September 23, 2003, “Rough Trade” label released “Gallowsbird’s Bark”, the debut Fiery Furnaces (The) studio album. It was recorded in 2003, at “Rare Book Room”, and was produced by Nicolas Vernhes.

Track listing:

  • Eleanor Friedberger – vocals, guitar
  • Matthew Friedberger – vocals, piano, synth, bass
  • Ryan Sawyer – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Eleanor Friedberger, Matthew Friedberger and Ryan Sawyer, except where noted.

  1. South Is Only a Home
  2. I’m Gonna Run
  3. Leaky Tunnel
  4. Up in the North
  5. Inca Rag/Name Game
  6. Asthma Attack
  7. Don’t Dance Her Down – lyrics adapted from “Big Jim in the Barroom”
  8. Crystal Clear
  9. Two Fat Feet
  10. Bow Wow
  11. Gale Blow
  12. Worry Worry
  13. Bright Blue Tie
  14. Tropical Ice-Land
  15. Rub-Alcohol Blues – William E. Myer
  16. We Got Back the Plague

On June 16, 2017.

On June 16, 2017, “Nonesuch” label released “Crack-Up”, the third Fleet Foxes album. It was recorded July 2016 – January 2017, at “Electric Lady”, “Sear Sound”,  “Rare Book Room”, “The Void” in New York, “The Unknown” in Anacortes, and “Avast Recording Company” in Seattle, and was produced by Robin Pecknold and Skyler Skjelset.


  • Robin Pecknold– vocals, classical guitar, dreadnought, electric guitar, string electric, Fender bass, piano, synthesizer, Baldwin electric harpsichord, prepared autoharp , marimba, Moog Minitaur, Hammond organ, mellotron, train loop, water loop, Korg drum machine, percussion, varispeed, footsteps, door, Memory Man Deluxe
  • Casey Wescott – piano, chromatic bells, qraqebs, kettledrum, programming, koto, harpsichord , Blue Noise synth, SuperColliderbirdsong
  • Morgan Henderson– cello, qraqebs, double bass, pitched bass clarinet, pitched flute, pitched clarinet , alto flute
  • Skyler Skjelset – vocals, electric guitar, Fender bass, piano, synthesizer, pencil on paper, cicada loop, glass harmonica, bowed cymbal, shamisen, percussion, programming, fole, Korg drum machine, amplifier noise, footsteps, Moog Minitaur, water harp
  • Christian Wargo– vocals, bass, drum kit
  • Hannah Epperson – violin
  • Matthew Barrick, Christopher Icasiano, Neal Morgan– drum kit, percussion
  • Brian McPherson – spoken word
  • String quartet
    • Russel Durham – first violin
    • Jeremy Kittel – second violin
    • Nicholas Cords – viola
    • Dave Eggar– cello
    • Gabriel Gall – arrangement
  • The Westerlies – horns
    • Andy Clausen – arrangement, trombone
    • Willem de Koch – trombone
    • Zubin Hensler, Riley Mulherkar – trumpet
    • Phil Ek– mixing
  • Greg Calbi– mastering
  • Chris Allen, Grant Valentine, Owen Mulholland, Gabe Wax, Casey Wescott, Adam Burd, Gosha Usov, Beatriz Artola – engineering
  • Ben Tousley, Robin Pecknold – design, layout
  • Shawn Brackbill – band portrait
  • Sean Pecknold, Adi Goodrich – paintings
  • Hiroshi Hamaya– front and back cover, interior photos

Track listing:

All tracks by Robin Pecknold, except where noted.

  1. I Am All That I Need / Arroyo Seco / Thumbprint Scar – Gabriel Gall
  2. Cassius
  3. – Naiads, Cassadies
  4. Kept Woman
  5. Third of May / Ōdaigahara
  6. If You Need to, Keep Time on Me
  7. Mearcstapa
  8. On Another Ocean (January / June)
  9. Fool’s Errand
  10. I Should See Memphis – Gabriel Gall
  11. Crack-Up

On March 18, 2014.

Lost in the dream

On March 18, 2014, “Secretly Canadian” label released “Lost in the Dream”, the third War on Drugs studio album. It was recorded August 2012–November 2013, at “Uniform Recording” in Philadelphia,”Echo Mountain” in Asheville,  “Fidelitorium”’ in Kernersville, “Rare Book Room” in Brooklyn, “Miner Street” in Philadelphia, “Water Music” inHoboken, “Public Hi-Fi” in Austin, “University of the Arts”, “Adam Granduciel’s House” in Philadelphia, and was produced by Adam Granduciel.


  • Adam Granduciel– vocals, ARP Omni, ARP String Ensemble,  dubs, electronics, Fender Rhodes, guitars, harmonica, Linn Drum, mixing, Oberheim synthesizer, organ, drums, percussion, piano, slide guitar, synthesizer, Wurlitzer, arranger, engineer, art direction, photography, publishing
  • Robbie Bennett – ARP String Ensemble, organ, piano, synthesizer, Wurlitzer
  • Anthony LaMarca – guitar
  • Dave Hartley– bass, fretless bass, percussion, synthesizer
  • Charlie Hall – drums
  • Jon Ashley – drums, engineer assistant
  • Pat Berkery – drums, percussion
  • Mike Sneeringer – drums
  • Michael Johnson –ARP 2600, Eventide, engineer
  • Ricky Ray Jackson – pedal steel
  • Mike Sobel – lap steel guitar
  • Paul Sukeena – guitar
  • Carter Tanton – guitar
  • Nicolas Vernhes – tambourine, organ, engineer, mixing
  • Joseph Shabason – saxophone
  • David Fishkin – saxophone
  • Jon Natchez – baritone saxophone
  • Jeff Zeigler – additional production, drum programming, engineer, mixing, pitch adjustment, pre-mixing
  • Gabe Wax – assistant engineer, mixing assistant, tape effects
  • Jon Lowe – engineer
  • Brad Bell – engineer
  • John Congleton – engineer
  • Sean Kelly – engineer assistant
  • Ted Richardson – engineer assistant
  • Matt Schimelfenig – engineer assistant
  • Greg Calbi– mastering
  • Steve Fallone – mastering assistant
  • Daniel Murphy – design, layout
  • Dusdin Condren – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Adam Granduciel, except where noted.

  1. Under the Pressure
  2. Red Eyes
  3. Suffering
  4. An Ocean in Between the Waves
  5. Disappearing
  6. Eyes to the Wind
  7. The Haunting Idle
  8. Burning
  9. Lost in the Dream
  10. In Reverse